We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stay away” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Destiny Palms Hotel Maingate West

Save Saved
You added Destiny Palms Hotel Maingate West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Destiny Palms Hotel Maingate West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8536 Irlo Bronson Memorial Hwy, Kissimmee, FL 34747   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 158 hotels in Kissimmee
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“stay away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

i had some coupons for 3day 2 nights they let me use 2 together for 3 nights. when we left after the 3rd night they were counfused as to why i was leaving. i told the lady at the desk i only wanted to stay 3 nights. So we were over an hour away when the manager Chuck called and asked why we left. Told him we only needed 3 nights. He said he will refund part of the price for the day we did not use. 2days later they chargered me the money thats was to be refunded. I called Chuck he got very rude and said its not his problem.

Room Tip: sleep at your own risk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

478 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    179
    171
    85
    21
    22
See reviews for
192
164
21
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florence SC
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Although the king bed room was small, it was big enough and it was very clean. The staff was very friendly. The hotel has continental breakfast, but there is also a restaurant right in front of the hotel with a fantastic buffet breakfast for $6.99 that includes omelets made to order (and the hotel gave us a 15% off coupon). I would stay there again! It is only 5 miles straight up the highway from Disney gate. There are many, many restaurants and retail stores in the area also.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucksport, Maine
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is in a great location... Near Disney, Bahama Breeze and Menchie's. Perfect. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The bed was comfortable. The continental breakfast wasn't much but it was free! My only complaint is the awful fluorescent lighting in the bathroom!! It flashed and sputtered and made so much noise! The room was small but had a mini-fridge and toaster oven. We also could use the microwave downstairs whenever we wanted.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed at the Destiny Palms from the 13th to 29th March 2013, for 16 nights .Arrived at the Hotel late to a warm and friendly greeting from the manger and staff.
The room was excellent and cleaned every day by friendly staff, the room had a King size bed and was the comfiest I have ever slept in.
There was a good choice of Breakfast available,in a small but clean dining room,
The manager Chuck, and reception staff were very helpful with local knowledge and information.
On the many occasions that I have been to Florida on Holiday, I think that this is the best Hotel that I have stayed in.and I would gladly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed March 2013. Paid £27 per night plus approx $4 per night resort fee.

Arrived late a night, reception staff chatty and friendly and check-in was efficient. Our room was OK for the price, it was on the ground floor overlooking the car park which meant we had to keep the curtains closed for privacy but that wasn't really an issue as we weren't in the room that much. Shower was clean with plenty of hot water and good pressure.Toilet was a bit brown for my liking a could've done with a good bleach or replacing. The hairdryer wasn't much use so I would advise taking your own. There was also a fridge in the room which we used for drinks and snacks and a microwave.

As previous reviewers have said the beds are comfy but the sheets do not quite fit the bed and when I went to replace them in the morning I found an old sock tangled inside that didn't belong to either us that I found that a bit off putting.
Breakfast is OK for a freebie (muffins, cereal, coffee, juice, waffles and pancakes that you warm yourself in the microwave) but unless you are up early you may find yourself queueing for a table so we tended not to bother or just grabbed a couple of muffins to eat on the go.
Free wifi was good, plenty of free parking, pictures of the hotel pool are a bit mis-leading as it really is next to the carpark with minimal privacy.
Good proximity to Mcdonalds & 7/11 and there is a huge Target 5 mins East on the 192.
Found the hotel to be good value for the price we paid and a good nights sleep but because of the sock in the bed and old toilet we probably would not return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange Park, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I am usually very weary of booking small hotel chains, and especially weary of booking stays at places I have never been. But do not let that stop you from visiting Destiny Palms during your next stay in Celebration. I wasn't surprised by the excellent service or the neat rooms because I had already read all the great reviews, however I have never been greeted by the General Manager anywhere we have stayed before! He was very friendly & he gave me tips on our frequent traveling. The rooms were very clean. I would recommend this for small families for the rooms were not small, but were not too spacious. Perfect for us. Distance to Disney is good. You can ask the GM for tips on getting to Disney quicker! Close to all sorts of food. We didn't go swimming, or see the continental breakfast (slept in! Haha). Everything else was wonderful though. Thanks Destiny Palms! :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta, ga
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed just one night at the Destiny Palms but thought it was a really good place to stay. The only real draw back is that the rooms are quite small. The price was extremely reasonable and the staff was cordial. The location is very close to Disney, so there is another plus. The breakfast in the morning is really nothing to shout about. and the breakfast room was small as well. If you are a couple or maybe three people, the rooms are big enough, but I wouldn't stay here with more than that in the room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Destiny Palms Hotel Maingate West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Destiny Palms Hotel Maingate West

Address: 8536 Irlo Bronson Memorial Hwy, Kissimmee, FL 34747
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kissimmee
#9 Best Value Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Destiny Palms Hotel Maingate West 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The choice for Kissimmee Hotel near Walt Disney World Resort!Experience the Magic of Orlando, KissimmeeThe Destiny Palms Hotel is 100% Non-Smoking.At the Destiny Palms Hotel Maingate West, you will experience warm hospitality and luxury amenities unlike any other hotel in the area.The Destiny Palms Hotel wants to be your home away from home. When traveling for business or for pleasure, we offer the ultimate in convenience, comfort and value.The Destiny Palms Hotel offers many amenities, just a few of the many features that will make your visit a memorable one is our crystal clear swimming pool, wireless internet in all rooms, guest laundry facilities and our Free Continental Breakfast.Located less than one mile from Disney Animal Kingdom, less than one mile from the entrance to the Walt Disney World Resort Area and just minutes from everything Orlando/Kissimmee has to offer, Destiny Palms Maingate West is the perfect choice for your family vacation.The Destiny Palms Hotel is approved and rated by the American Automotive Association (AAA). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Destiny Palms Hotel Maingate West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Destiny Palms Kissimmee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Destiny Palms Hotel Maingate West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.