We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for those Disney weekend getaways!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Destiny Palms Hotel Maingate West

Save Saved
You added Destiny Palms Hotel Maingate West to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Destiny Palms Hotel Maingate West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8536 Irlo Bronson Memorial Hwy, Kissimmee, FL 34747   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 158 Hotels in Kissimmee
Miami
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel for those Disney weekend getaways!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

We found this hotel last year and have been going every other month since! As Disney annual pass holders we try and go every other month for 4 days and have been staying here - and love it! the staff is very helpful!!! Especially the on-site manager. The rooms may be a bit on the smaller side but my husband and 2 kids are perfect in them. The rooms included a toaster oven and mini-fridge at no extra cost. Being budget conscious and always on a schedule, we really enjoy the complimentary continental breakfast... we eat and head straight for the parks...no need to stop anywhere else or pay those extremely high Disney food prices (The hotel is about 10 minutes from Animal Kingdom). If you prefer, there is a McDonald's right in front of the property. If you are planning on being at the parks and need a nice place to sleep with the family we would really recommend this hotel! - See you next month!

Room Tip: i would ask for a room further from the vending machine area - it will be perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    176
    87
    21
    22
See reviews for
197
167
21
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loxahatchee, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

I came here with my 2 daughters and my sister in law brought her mom and daughter, we were all VERY PLEASED with our accomodations and ecstatic about the location! It could not have been better unless on Disney Property, which is in backyard!! THis was impromptu trip and everything was perfect!! CHUCK is awesome!! THe girls at the desk were so friendly and helpful as well! Awesome breakfast if u are an early riser too! We WILL BE BACK!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

We were trying to book a hotel for a long time in the kissimmee area for our 8th anniversary trip in July. I looked all over various travel sites and all we found were run down cheap hotels with really bad reviews. This one showed up about a week before we were schedued to leave and we fell in love with it right away! With all hotels, there are good and bads. I will do my best to be as descriptive as possible on both. First, the bad...

Location is ok, but beware the travel time to the parks. The easiest way to get to Disney is straight down 192 to World Dr. Since the hotel is on the extreme west end of 192, it does take a bit longer to get thru traffic, especially during morning rush. It took us almost 20 minutes each day to go the 3 miles or so to get to world drive because of all the traffic and lights along the way. Even coming back from the parks around midnight, the traffic was horrible. They do offer a shuttle. but it gets crowded and the times you have to come back from the park suck. They want you to be at the bus stop at like 5 pm each night or you miss the only shuttle that will pick you up. So you lose park time just to save driving time. Not a good trade off to me. Anyways, the rooms are on the small side, but if you are like us, we used them for less that 10 hours a day....long enough to shower and sleep and get up the next day and spent it in the parks, which was fine with us. The breakfast is good, as long as you get there early enough. There is only one microwave to nuke the waffles and french toast in, so there is always a line for that. But they do have 4 toasters, so you can do that as well. No fresh fruit, though.That would have been nice, but still a good breakfast! There was one night where about 5 people decided to camp out in the main hall right arcoss from our room and talk till almost midnight. I called the front desk like 20 times and it rang off the hook. I finally got someone and told them my situation, and they took care of it. The walls are paper thin. When the a/c was off, we could hear our neighbor sawing logs right behind our headboard like he was in bed with us! We thought it funny, and turned the a/c back on and it drowned out the noise. The shower could have used a little scrubbing bubbles for some mildew and it would have been nice to have had the sheets changed at least once while we were there for a week. The maid left an envelope on our desk every day for tips. I should not have to feel obligated to pay a tip or feel forced into doing it. If you clean the room properly and change the sheets, there might be something worth tipping, but do not shove it in your guests faces like it is expected. Do a good job, get a tip. nuff said.

Now the good...

I called the night before to see about an early check in and they said call in the morning to see if a room is ready. We did and they had a room for us, so we checked in that morning. The room we were given had 2 queen beds and I paid for a king. I went back to the desk and they corrected thier mistake right away and gave me a very nice king room. We dropped our stuff off and went right on to the parks. We came back, showered and settled down for the night. OMG!!! The beds are soo comfortable! My wife and I slept the very best in those beds that week. It is nice to come back to a comfy bed after 12+ hours at Disney. The room came with a fridge and toaster oven, so that helped keep food costs down as we brown bagged our luches in the parks and saved like $30 bucks a day in park food. Like everyone has said before, the front desk staff is awesome! They were very friendly and helped us resolve any issues we had.

Overall, this hotel was a life saver as it came along at the right time and within our budget. I hope it pops up again as we will definitely be back! Thanks :)

Room Tip: Read all reviews fully. Know what you are getting into.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Recently (July 2011) for two weeks.
Our room had 2 double beds which was ok for us and our two children however there was one half size wardrobe and two large drawers which is no where near enough for a two week stay. I asked if there was a room available with more space however they had nothing. The toilet/shower room (no bath) was very small. The room was cleaned daily however the carpet was stained and the window was cracked with tape on it. The small pool was good and the staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starke, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

we just recently stayed at the destiny palms hotel in kissimmee fl and had one of the best experiences of staying at a hotel. My daughter's softball team competed at the USSSA world series, Chuck and his staff were amazing, it was probably one of the best times I have had. Thanks Chuck we won't stay any where else when we come back.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

what canwe say we stayed at Destiny Palms Hotel for a week in June and returned for two weeks in July because we liked it so much. All our needs were catered for and staff very pleasant and helpful. Chuck the manager went beyond the call of duty to look after us nothing was too much trouble. In our opinion the rooms are the best deal on 192.
We do intend to return for the third time this year and look forward to our next stay.
Well done to all for making our vacation pleasant.
Dave 53 and Michelle 49 from London England..

Room Tip: Phone or email for best room rate !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

my wife and I booked a room for a long weekend R&R after checking various websites, books and mags. It's set back from the main road, great for peace and quiet, interior hallways,quick check-in. The room was cozy w/ king bed, ultra clean, flat screen tv, fridge, toaster oven, ironingboard & iron, hair dryer, coffee maker, everything laid out in such away as to not feeling cramped. A free hot/cold breakfast is served, but sleeping in we missed out on it. everybody from Ed at the front desk to Alan the on-site manager made us feel right at home and truly made every effort to please us. In short, CLEAN, QUIET, SAFE and a perfect choice to be close to the theme park action, 10 min. to disney, without the constant hub bub. P.S> It felt great to take an early or late dip in the pool. This would be a find for double or more for what you are charged. Without a doubt we will be back. L&L

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Destiny Palms Hotel Maingate West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Destiny Palms Hotel Maingate West

Address: 8536 Irlo Bronson Memorial Hwy, Kissimmee, FL 34747
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Kissimmee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Kissimmee
#10 Best Value Hotel in Kissimmee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Destiny Palms Hotel Maingate West 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The choice for Kissimmee Hotel near Walt Disney World Resort!Experience the Magic of Orlando, KissimmeeThe Destiny Palms Hotel is 100% Non-Smoking.At the Destiny Palms Hotel Maingate West, you will experience warm hospitality and luxury amenities unlike any other hotel in the area.The Destiny Palms Hotel wants to be your home away from home. When traveling for business or for pleasure, we offer the ultimate in convenience, comfort and value.The Destiny Palms Hotel offers many amenities, just a few of the many features that will make your visit a memorable one is our crystal clear swimming pool, wireless internet in all rooms, guest laundry facilities and our Free Continental Breakfast.Located less than one mile from Disney Animal Kingdom, less than one mile from the entrance to the Walt Disney World Resort Area and just minutes from everything Orlando/Kissimmee has to offer, Destiny Palms Maingate West is the perfect choice for your family vacation.The Destiny Palms Hotel is approved and rated by the American Automotive Association (AAA). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Otel, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Destiny Palms Hotel Maingate West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Destiny Palms Kissimmee

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Destiny Palms Hotel Maingate West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.