We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay, but the place needs improvements.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sombrero Resort & Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Sombrero Resort & Marina to your Saves list
Sombrero Resort & Marina
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19 Sombrero Boulevard, Marathon, FL 33050 (Formerly Sombrero)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Marathon
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay, but the place needs improvements.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

No one was there when we checked in, had to call for someone to show up. (they "close" after 5 pm!!) room was clean, AC very strong... no way to turn down the AC in the bedroom, the "fully stocked kitchen had one spoon, one small sauce pan, toaster didn't work correctly, front room TV was bad- very small and took 20 min to come on. Internet was VERY BAD, had to stand out on the balcony to get a signal most of the time. Still, the bed was comfortable, no bad odors present, shower worked fine, location was great, and we enjoyed our stay. If you expect modern rooms, etc. this is NOT the place. it is older and needs work, but the price was right albeit misleading from the online ad. (they tack on hidden charges) I never appreciate that type of advertising, and wish they would just say upfront how much it really costs. I would return if i got the same room (410) ( I have read bad reviews about other rooms)

Room Tip: get the building facing the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merri C, Manager at Sombrero Resort & Marina, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of the Sombrero Resort & Marina. We do close at 5 PM on Sunday and we are open until 9 PM - Monday through Saturday. We have after hour "On Call" service for all guests arriving after the Front Desk Closes.

We have supplied Unit # 410 with additional kitchen supplies including a new toaster.

The WI-FI system is being updated and additional equipment is being installed. The WI-FI is available in the common areas, by the pool and the den located next to the front desk.

All of our pricing is clear on all of our OTA - On Line Travel Agents, Expedia, Booking, Vizergy and Hotwire. We do not tack on additional charges.

Please indicate your desire to have room 410 when you next book with us and we will do our absolute best to get you in that room or a better room.

Thank you again for your review and we hope you see you back here at the Sombrero Resort & Marina soon.

Merri Chitty
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    47
    44
    32
    63
See reviews for
48
69
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Can't remember what we paid, but it must have been cheap as we were trying to save money to facilitate longer in the Keys.

It's OK. Clean, basic. It's also close to the Turtle Hospital, which is a must visit.

I found it to be a bit dated and in need of some repair, plus the neighbouring guests were really loud, but the hotel can't really do much about that.

I would recommend it. You have such gorgeous scenery and things to do anyway, why would you be here for that much time?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merri C, Manager at Sombrero Resort & Marina, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Sombrero Resort & Marina. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and were able to take in some of the Marathon, FL attractions such as the Turtle Hospital.

We are doing our best to make improvements and hope you will give us another opportunity by visiting the Sombrero Resort & Marina when you are in the Marathon area.

Thank you again for your positive review and we hope you see you back here at the Sombrero Resort & Marina soon.

Merri Chitty
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The property itself is nice, well lit and safe for a group of women travelling together. The pool, tennis courts, dockage areas were all nice as well. The staff was very friendly and spoke whenever we saw them and the other guests were very polite as well. The daily housekeeping services were very efficient in providing clean towels and removing of the trash. Very convenient with several grocers, retail and restaurants minutes away some just a 10 min walk.

The rest of my review will focus on the condition of the room. The room was very spacious and the A/C worked very well. The cleanliness/condition of the room was far less than desirable and run down. The floors were disgusting, we had to wear shoes or at least socks around because it turned our bare feet black within minutes of kicking off our shoes. There was mold on the shower curtain, the bathroom towel racks were broken off or very loose on the wall. We stayed for five nights and cooked in at least one meal a day. The range was missing nobs and the ones that were attached had no markings to indicate temperature, you could not tell of the burner was off or on, not safe (Also no smoke alarm). Same with the oven, there were no degree indicators so it was purely guessing on the temperature. The kitchen included two pots, one lid, no pans, skillets. The sofa was sunken in and it was not an option to sleep on it, matress was barely existant. With a deep detailed cleaning and less than $100 in repairs and additions this room would be much better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merri C, Manager at Sombrero Resort & Marina, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of the Sombrero Resort & Marina. I am pleased you enjoyed the pool, tennis courts and dockage at the Marina. Our staff works hard to provide great service to all our guest and I am glad they were helpful to you.

I do apologize the cleanliness did not meet your expectations. The rooms are individually being deep cleaned and issues resolved, such as the carpets, floors and furniture steamed clean. The shower curtains are continually washed with bleach and I will make sure this room is on the "Deep Clean" list. I have the Maintenance staff taking care of the towel bar, replace the stove and oven knobs and install a fire alarm. Housekeeping Supervisor has been tasked to review all aspects of this repair to make sure these issues do not reoccur. The housekeepers work diligently to clean the rooms and I again apologize we missed the mark with you.

Thank you for helping us improve and provide a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you give us an opportunity to overcome your initial experience by visiting us again soon.

Merri Chitty
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel is located right next to the main road to Key West.
The staying was just OK. We got a room on the 3rd floor, which was large enough to have 2 adults, 2 kids and one baby.
Three things disturbed us:
1. The room door wasn't well-maintained. It was very hard to open it.
2. Strong smell of fish in fridge. I realize that fish are popular at this area- however- I don't think I have to have fish odor every time I open the fridge door.
3. We asked for a baby crib upon our reservation and mentioned it again at check-in. The staff told us that they are going to send a crib but it never happened.
We paid 108$ per night in early Auguset, which is OK.

Room Tip: Insist on room with no fish odor. Go and smell the fridge !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merri C, Manager at Sombrero Resort & Marina, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Dr. Emanuele,

Thank you for your review of the Sombrero Resort & Marina. I apologize for not exceeding your expectations and for the refrigerator smell and for the crib delivery mishap.

We are not taking your dissatisfaction lightly and have reviewed your concerns with our team. We use your feedback to implement improvements to insure we provide a better experience.

Respectfully,

Merri Chitty
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The only ice machine in the place is broken WHAT? Kind of a run-down condo with a full kitchen utensils and all. Also, a balcony. Pool area was good, and it you like tennis there's a Great tennis area.

Room Tip: I didn't see a fitness center, and we really had no contact with room service. It really is like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merri C, Manager at Sombrero Resort & Marina, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of the Sombrero Resort & Marina. I apologize our ice machine was temporarily out of order during your stay. It has since been repaired. The Housekeeping and Maintenance staff are always working to improve our offering.

I am pleased you were able to enjoy the full kitchen, balcony, pool and tennis courts.

Thank you again for your review and we hope you see you back here at the Sombrero Resort & Marina soon.

Merri Chitty
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortez, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Staff is helpful. Rooms have full kitchen. Good air conditioners. Good value pricing. For divers, it is all that one needs. Pull-out sofa should not be used as a bed, but we have stayed here several times a year for several years and we make it work.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have wi-fi signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merri C, Manager at Sombrero Resort & Marina, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. The Sombrero Resort and Marina staff are all committed to each guest. We want every guest to have the best experience possible. We are happy you enjoyed your stay.

The full kitchen is a feature many of our guests enjoy and good air conditioners are always a plus in Florida.

Please accept my apologies for the Sofa Sleeper not meeting your needs and for the WI-FI reception difficulties. The WI-FI system is being updated and additional equipment is being installed. The WI-FI is available in the common areas, by the pool and the den located next to the front desk.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to your return.

Merri Chitty
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We were two friends traveling for 3days to key west in september. We were traveling on a budget, and the prices here was good. When we arrived we were quite surprised by the good standard. We had a fully equiped apartment which was very spacy. It had everything you could need and even 2 televisions for two persons. Another plus was that it had a big tennis area which we as guest could use for free. They even lent us the reckets and balls too. It was also wifi included. The resort is very close to a nice beach and alot of shops. The beach in marathon was in my opinion bether than the one we visited in kew west.
And not least, the staff was very respectfull and they treated you with respect. My only complain would be that the elevators lacked aircondition and that the wifi connection was bad in our room.
Otherwise, for that price range it is only idiotic to expect more facilities and service then what they gave.
Thank you Sombrero for a good stay.

Kindly regards
Norwegians guest

Room Tip: choose a lower floor room, since the elevators are a bit slow and lack aircondition.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merri C, Manager at Sombrero Resort & Marina, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. The staff at the Sombrero Resort & Marina are committed to making each guest experience a good one. The Housekeeping staff provides each room with kitchen supplies and fresh linen and towels. The Front Desk staff takes pride in serving our guest which includes providing equipment for our visitors to enjoy the tennis courts as you did.

The Sombrero Beach is a great find for our guests and the convenience to shopping makes the Sombrero Resort & Marina a great location.

The WI-FI system is being updated and additional equipment is being installed. The WI-FI is available in the common areas, by the pool and the den located next to the front desk.

We look forward to your next visit with us at the Sombrero Resort & Marina.

Thank you,

Merri Chitty
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sombrero Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sombrero Resort & Marina

Address: 19 Sombrero Boulevard, Marathon, FL 33050 (Formerly Sombrero)
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sombrero Resort & Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sombrero Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boatman_s Sombrero Resort & Marina Hotel Marathon
Boatman_s Sombrero Resort And Marina
Marathon Key Sombrero Hotel
Marathon Key Sombrero Resort & Lighthouse Marina
Sombrero Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sombrero Resort & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.