We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location for the Lower Keys” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon to your Saves list
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13201 Overseas Highway, MM 54, Marathon, FL 33050   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bolton England
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Good location for the Lower Keys”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel is lovely, even though some new floors were being put down in the reception area. The restaurant was light and airy. Good choice breakfast items. Our room was very comfortable and clean. We enjoyed the location for accessibility to Key West.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    415
    174
    51
    32
See reviews for
348
434
23
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

Went to the keys for work but i ended up staying for the weekend of nov 17 till Sunday on the 17 th I checked into the holiday inn express unexpected so I needed clothes so I go to kmart and spend well over 60 bucks on necessities wake up sat morning to go to work and while at work I get a phone call stating my stuff was being moved o storage until my company resolved the issue with my reservation but once I return to fix my reservation my items were missing sending me to kmart once again

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy B, Director of Sales at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear gbaby85,

We are very sorry that there was a misunderstanding with your reservation. We will always do our best to protect our guests from any unnecessary situations and always keep their belongings safe. If this did not happen during your visit please contact me immediately so that I may speak with you and get to the bottom of this unfortunate occurrence.

Sincerely,

Nancy Bennett
Sales/Marketing Manager
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
13201 Overseas Highway
Marathon, Florida 33050
Phone:305.289.0222
Fax: 305.743.5460
nbennett@spottswood.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I am disgusted with how the hotel handled this situation. If I was an owner I would fire my General Manager first. I checked in on 11/8-11/10. The hotel was fine, a typical Express. The day after I left, I was in the doctor's office being treated for bed bug bites. I got a letter from the doctor and everything. I called the GM and the clerk told me she wasnt there but she would email Lisa and have her call me first thing in the morning. I had to call the hotel, 3 times the next day to finally get a hold of her. She told me that they absolutely didnt have bed bugs and never even had a claim. I told her that I had checked, bedbugregistry.com and exactly a month prior someone wrote a complaint about how they had recieved it. She told me I was crazy, literally said "you're crazy". When I told her I would contact IHG directly, she hung up on me. Her customer service was unbelievable. Needless to say, 3 days later I recieved a call from the Director of Sales, who said she conducted an investigation and there were no bed bugs. This was the only hotel I stayed in during my trip. I'm horrified that these people hold upper management positions. I am attaching pictures of my legs after my 2 day stay at this hotel that "didnt have bed bugs" No sorry, no anything. AVOID THIS HOTEL AT ALL COSTS!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy B, Director of Sales at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Morgan T,

There is nothing worse than a Trip Advisor review stating that our hotel has bed bugs. We are very sorry that you experienced something that left you with bites on your legs. It is horrible to think that this would have happened!
Being a newer IHG Holiday Inn Express and Suites, we have taken every measure to prevent these types of occurrences. If you look under our sheets and mattress covers, you will see a plastic liner that was purchased to prevent this type of problem. We also have a very consistent and mandated extermination program in place, as I offered to show you when we spoke. I also offered to show you the inspection report from the claim you made and you declined my offer.
We take all of these comments and occurrences VERY serious, and we will always work hard to make sure that if a guest does have an issue that it is treated with the highest of concern. We do apologize that you did not feel like you were regarded in this way. We did start the investigation as soon as we were alerted and were pleased to hear that we do not have bedbugs, but regretfully, we still have a disappointed guest.
Our door is always open and it would be my pleasure to go over any of these documents that indicate that we do not have bedbugs or any of our inspections done by government agencies as they are public record. Please feel free to contact me at your convenience.

Respectfully,

Nancy Bennett
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
13201 Overseas Highway
Marathon, Florida 33050
Phone:305.289.0222
Fax: 305.743.5460
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pisa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Stayed 2 nights.
Pros:
-very clean room and bathroom
-well sized room
-right on the US1 highway, one minute from both gulf & ocean, 55 mins from Key West
-facilities nearby
-the breakfast is not good, but they give real butter instead of some sort of spread
-the other guests are generally respectful, vital due to the paper thin walls
Cons:
-rude and unsupportive staff
- asked twice for a microwave and not only they didn't bring it to our room, but didn't have the decency to phone us to let us know.
-not very clean halls
-cheap breakfast, lousy quality of everything (apart the real butter)
- still the breakfast: they stop serving well before closing time - at 9.30 (closing time: 10) there were no more hot water, eggs, buns, ...
- paper-thin walls
- terrible service in neighboring restaurant (Tarpon Creek) and the attached fishing attractions seemed expensive, although they have good reviews on TA
- cheap, small fitness room

OK, it's bordering 2/5 but I'll give it 3/5; mine was a last minute booking and might not have got the best bargain, but I feel for 160 USD a night a guests deserves a little more. If you get it for a better price, go for it. If not, consider Key West's b&b on Duval St.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy B, Director of Sales at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Dear Michelle B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We were disappointed to hear that your expectations were not met during your stay with us. We do appreciate that you offered the pros and the cons in an effort to be fair.

We do apologize that we do not offer refrigerators in every room. Our hotel was not designed to accommodate one in every room. We do find that guests prefer that they have one and we are working on a resolution for this.
Please feel free to contact me at nbennett@spottswood.com if you would like to further this conversation.
We do hope to have the opportunity to have you as a guests once again!

Sincerely,

Nancy Bennett
Sales/Marketing Manager
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
13201 Overseas Highway
Marathon, Florida 33050
Phone:305.289.0222
Fax: 305.743.5460
nbennett@spottswood.com
www.holidayinnexpressmarathon.com
Facebook
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Pros : Great location as Marathon is half way through the Keys, right smack in the center. Hotel is newly renovated and rooms are spacious. The Tarpon Creek Marina is located just behind the hotel, really convenient for those who enjoy snorkelling in Florida Keys.

Cons : There is no guest laundry onsite. Supposedly there’s a Dinner Package at Tarpon Creek Bar & Grill or the Barracuda Grill when you stay 2 nights at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon. Basically one can get $25 credit just by showing the receipt from either restaurant when you check out (US$25 credit will be applied to your final bill). However, when we checked it with their counter staff (Jarrod), he was not sure and couldn't be bothered to check with his colleague. In fact, he yawned when he was talking to us. That really left us a really bad impression of hotel.

Overall, still a great place to stay in (except for the staff whom was clueless on the on-going promotions).

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rabbitnorthampton
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Stayed for 8 nights in November 2013. Had a suite overlooking the pool. Lovely room, lovely view. Couldn't fault anything about the place. Staff very friendly and helpful. Free breakfast ok. Everywhere clean. Good restaurant next door. Had a great time.

Room Tip: Choose a suite for not much more money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

From our arrival , the kids were ready to unwind in the pool and we were ready to relax. The hotel was in great shape and they had a great Tiki Bar/Restaurant immediately behind pool area. Great food and really reasonable. Breakfast was included which had just about anything you could want. It made parking the boat pretty easy and secured. The property overall was maintained in and out. Our room was as it showed on line and clean and beds were real comfortable. A definite return stay next time we head down to Marathon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon

Address: 13201 Overseas Highway, MM 54, Marathon, FL 33050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you for a fun-loving tropical vacation at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in the fabulous Florida Keys. Stay with us for fun in the sun and the convenience of local businesses, the Florida Keys Marathon Airport (MTH), and local island attractions. Our hotel is pet-friendly and 100% smoke free.The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon is located in the heart of the Florida Keys; a short drive from Key West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon Hotel Marathon
The Holiday Inn Express And Suites Marathon
Holiday Inn Marathon
Marathon Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.