We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, quiet and good value.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon to your Saves list
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13201 Overseas Highway, MM 54, Marathon, FL 33050   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Marathon
Fredericton, Canada
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Clean, quiet and good value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed in the Holiday Inn for 2 nights in late May while on our way to Key West. We had checked the reviews on Trip Advisor and it lived up to it's promise. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the pool was very nice. There is an excellent restaurant just behind it that apparently had just opened, and was a great improvement over what was there before. There is also another good restaurant across the highway. The breakfast was good, and my only complaint is that the Wi-Fi was quite spotty. A few more antennae would be a good idea. I would recommend the hotel and will stay there again if back that way.

Room Tip: Check the strength of the Wi-Fi signal as it varies from room to room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    369
    148
    41
    31
See reviews for
304
388
19
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Walls are paperthin. But excellent food in restaurant and great atmosphere. Capt hooks jet ski for two plus hours with Ryan was a blast. Nice staff. Hot water and lovely pool and view. Clean rooms. Great icemaker.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkaminski1, Director of Sales at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear godsangel123,

We appreciate that you took the time to write a review about your stay with us!
We are sorry that you experienced a problem with the noise during your time here. We are always looking for ways to improve on the guest’s experience, so we always appreciate the guest’s perspective.

We do hope to have an opportunity to have you as guest once again and I will pass on your kind words to Ryan!

Sincerely,


Nancy Bennett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Marathon, FL
nbennett@spottswood.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Platte City, m
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Stopped here to give us a day exploring the middle keys during a trip down to Key West and back. Only about an hour from Key West, and about 1.5 from Miami.

Significantly cheaper than the hotels down in Key West, for essentially the same thing! Walking distance to a bunch of great restaurants, arguably the best seafood we had in the keys. Only a few miles from the "7 Mile Bridge", has a decent pool, what else would you want?

There is a restaurant out back, but we did not try it. Parking was a tiny bit difficult trying to check in, but it was only a minor annoyance. Room was VERY large, quite unexpected. The whole of marathon key is easy walking/biking distance if you so choose.

If I was going to stop at Marathon Key again for whatever reason, I see no reason not to stay here again!

Room Tip: Had a pool view room, which also was a quasi-ocean view. Nice room, couldn't hear pool noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

This hotel is about one hour from Key West. I wanted a hotel in a quiet place for a good price. This is a new hotel and is very clean. There is also a great restaurant directly behind the hotel (30 second walk) which was fantastic. The free breakfast was typical for a Holiday Inn.. no complaints! There is also a water sports area within a very quick walking distance. If you are going to Marathon this is your hotel! I would stay here again!

Room Tip: Second and third floor for water views. Beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

My family and I decided to take a trip to the Keys for a vacation, we went to Key West for two days and then arrived at Marathon and stayed at the Holiday Inn Express. Overall, the service was great and I had no complaints at all. the place was very clean and well ran!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st. cloud, florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

my wife and i just got back from marathon key and we want everybody to know what a great time we had staying at the holiday inn express for 3 nights. everything was perfect at the hotel and front desk employees OLIVER AND JEFF were great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! can not wait to go back again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!also the breakfest buffet was great!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! jim and joann from st. cloud florida

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here before driving to Key West to catch the ferry to the Dry Tortugas. It was significantly cheaper than the hotels in Key West and not too bad of a drive early in the morning. We left before breakfast started so I really cannot give my review on that, but everything else was great.

Quick check in, great personalities of front desk staff, great room....perfect room and stay overall. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon

Address: 13201 Overseas Highway, MM 54, Marathon, FL 33050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you for a fun-loving tropical vacation at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in the fabulous Florida Keys. Stay with us for fun in the sun and the convenience of local businesses, the Florida Keys Marathon Airport (MTH), and local island attractions. Our hotel is pet-friendly and 100% smoke free.The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon is located in the heart of the Florida Keys; a short drive from Key West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon Hotel Marathon
The Holiday Inn Express And Suites Marathon
Holiday Inn Marathon
Marathon Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.