We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place halfway up the Keys” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon to your Saves list
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13201 Overseas Highway, MM 54, Marathon, FL 33050   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 25%
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Marathon
Toronto
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Nice place halfway up the Keys”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights and found the place to be clean and very comfortable. There was a nice breakfast include with eggs, sausage, beard, buns, fruit juice and coffee. It was a bit noisy with a very large wedding pary having booked about 50 rooms. They also took over the hotel restaurant for a large celebration. This was arelatively new place and a good location for the local beaches and marinas.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

943 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    369
    150
    41
    31
See reviews for
307
389
20
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Okay I fly stand-by so I'm not sure if I am going to make all my connections so I call this hotel tell them I might not make it that night so they let me cancel reservations and let me know that if I make it they had plenty of rooms, nice job. Rooms are very clean and staff very helpful and is easy to drive to. Nice pool bar and plenty of places to eat. should have stayed here on my way back from Key West also. I had no that is nil problems and if ever I go back to the keys will stay there again

Room Tip: I stayed North side overlooking the pool so I had a view of pool and lagoon. The elevator is in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We recently vacationed in the Keys for a week and decided to stay in Marathon (half way). We stayed here and loved it. The hotel and its staff were both very nice. It looked like a very new building. We loved the location (close to restaurants, shops, grocery stores, cvs, etc). It also has a very nice restaurant and water sports place behind it where you can rent boats, kayaks, jet skis, snorkeling trips, etc. Check-in was at 3 but we were able to at 1. Breakfast was standard hotel breakfast (cereal, sausage, eggs, yogurt, toast, bagels, cinnamon rolls, juices, and coffee). The only 3 minor negative things with the hotel were: 1-the view. It DOES NOT sit on the water. However, some rooms have a water view which is a canal leading to the ocean. 2-the noise level. The walls could have been a little thicker. We were able to hear tvs and the elevator bell in the room we stayed in. A simple fix for this was to keep the a/c running all night, which leads to number 3-the sheets. I'm not sure what kind of material they were, but even with the a/c on all night we were still very hot. The sheets were not very breathable. Other than that, we would recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We found our one night stay to be quite comfortable with a king size bed and lots of pillows. Only complaint was the view of the parking lot didn't thrill me. The breakfast assortment was adequate but nothing special.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the canal side. The parking lot side is boring
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Liberty
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Clean and new. As HIE's go this is nice. You won't get the old key's feeling but it's clean and the beds are comfy. Marathon is a nice town but if you are looking for a night life I suggest Key West. I would spend a few days in Marathon and a few in Key West.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Nj
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

A clean nice standard suite-type room with a couple of beds. I picked the location because it's halfway down and breaks up the 4 hour + Miami to key west ride. Also, the area is supposed to have good scenic snorkeling which we took advantage of. It is close to some nice restaurants and has one in back of the hotels parking lot. Breakfast is average. Was glad we stayed here and happy that our halfway spot panned out on all counts.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FLORIDA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Stopped her for one night at the last moment. Room was large and clean staff pleasant.Reasonably priced for the Keys. Good location for restaurants and attractions. Would stay here again. We had a room overlooking the pool on the third floor it was very quiet and nice view.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon

Address: 13201 Overseas Highway, MM 54, Marathon, FL 33050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you for a fun-loving tropical vacation at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in the fabulous Florida Keys. Stay with us for fun in the sun and the convenience of local businesses, the Florida Keys Marathon Airport (MTH), and local island attractions. Our hotel is pet-friendly and 100% smoke free.The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon is located in the heart of the Florida Keys; a short drive from Key West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon Hotel Marathon
The Holiday Inn Express And Suites Marathon
Holiday Inn Marathon
Marathon Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.