We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chain hotel, but very good and dependable.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon to your Saves list
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   13201 Overseas Highway, MM 54, Marathon, FL 33050   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Chain hotel, but very good and dependable.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We didn't plan on staying here, but it was teeming rain all day, so the unique little marina hotel we were thinking of lost it's appeal. My family and I happened upon this hotel. It is newly built. Excellent front desk staff. Very clean, modern rooms. Sometimes when traveling, (althought I like to support independent "mom and pop's") you don't want adventure. You want a dependable place. This is it. Good included breakfast. Didn't use pool b/c of rain, but it and the grounds looked well kept. Good location on the way to Key West.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkaminski1, General Manager at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this review, June 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We are pleased that you were pleasantly surprised with our facility! We take pride in being a "Good and Dependable" hotel, and are happy that you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    413
    173
    51
    32
See reviews for
346
433
23
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

This hotel opened in 2010 which of course means in hasn't had time to become shabby or show any signs of wear and tear. Our room on the ground floor was spacious, perhaps because it was designed for the disabled which we didn't need or ask for. It is just over half way along the Keys so convenient for viewing the whole area. One small point that may not even concern you was that it doesn't have any guest laundry, which is very unusual in my experience. It had a couple of restaurants within walking distance, and although they were very ordinary, it's so nice not to have to drive out somewhere for dinner. Breakfast was average but typical of most places.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkaminski1, General Manager at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you for the nice review! It is nice when you don't have to drive to go to dinner!
We do apologize that we do not have a laundry facility ~ there is one just down the road if you did need one in the future. We really do appreciate you staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St James City
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

This is the second year that we have stayed at this hotel during a dragon boat competition. The rooms were comfortable,clean and spacious. The breakfast was great and well managed by the one attendant who was there. She had her hands full with the number of paddlers who all came to breakfast at one time, but handled itnwell. There is a lovely outside pool overlooking the water. I look forward to staying there next year. My only recommendation is to have a microwave and small fridge in the room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkaminski1, General Manager at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
We are so pleased that you returned for the Dragon Boat Races! What a fun event, and it helps so many different charities in need!
We are always pleased to hear the great reviews about our staff and we really appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your experience!
Next year when you make your reservation, just inform our front desk staff that you would like a refrigerator and microwave in your room. You may want to call early to reserve, as the Dragon Boat Race is a big event in Marathon. Fl.!
See you next year!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Following a cruise, we added 3 days to drive down to the keys. Marathon appeared to be a good stopping point on the way down to Key West. Good hotel with clean rooms, nice pool, great view and had an excellent restaurant/lounge attached. Excellent breakfast included as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkaminski1, General Manager at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you for your review ~ it sounds like you had everything you needed for a pleasant stay over!
We hope that your cruise was an enjoyable one, and we look forward to seeing you back here at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites, Marathon, the Florida Keys!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Clean, comfortable rooms that are standard for Holiday Inn Express. Walls were a bit thin so I could hear my neighbor talking but he quieted down quickly. Front desk staff friendly, conversational, and gave good recommendations on where to eat, complete with a map.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkaminski1, General Manager at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review – I am pleased to hear that our front desk staff accommodated your needs!
We do apologize for the noise that you experienced and are glad that it did not create a problem with your stay!
Please keep us in mind for a future stay at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Marathon, the Florida Keys!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsey, Indiana
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

This hotel was like new!! It was so clean and beautifully decorated. We found the staff to be very helpful and our room was tidy and clean. Breakfast was delicious, as well. The pool was clean and refreshing. We were very pleased and would highly recommend a stay here!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkaminski1, General Manager at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you for regarding our hotel so nicely! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Marathon, the Florida Keys!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

My husband and I stayed for 6 nights and we were never short of things to do! It a great updated hotel with a great pool and great helpful staff! We even went kayaking right behind the hotel! Key west was only a 30-45 min drive depending on traffic. They should also tell every guest about this great local restaurant just down the road called Cabana Breezes! If u are not into the "fancy food" as me and my husband call it then go there! The food the the hotel restaurant was to fancy for us! I would recommend this place to anyone and stay there again for sure!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lkaminski1, General Manager at The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Thank you for writing such a great review about your stay here! I am pleased that you were able to enjoy a kayak tour! The mangroves that surround the area make for a great eco tour!
Next time you come, give the snorkel boat a try, it departs twice daily from the onsite marina and is only about a 15 minute ride out to the reef!
Thanks again, and we look forward to your next arrival
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon

Address: 13201 Overseas Highway, MM 54, Marathon, FL 33050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you for a fun-loving tropical vacation at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in the fabulous Florida Keys. Stay with us for fun in the sun and the convenience of local businesses, the Florida Keys Marathon Airport (MTH), and local island attractions. Our hotel is pet-friendly and 100% smoke free.The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon is located in the heart of the Florida Keys; a short drive from Key West. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon Hotel Marathon
The Holiday Inn Express And Suites Marathon
Holiday Inn Marathon
Marathon Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Holiday Inn Express & Suites Marathon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.