We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lencho's Restaurant

Lencho's Restaurant
1622 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-2121
305-743-4500
Improve this listing
Ranked #47 of 77 Restaurants in Marathon
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Not horrible, but not really good either. Had tacos and enchiladas. They bring pico de gallo instead of salsa for the chips, and charge $1 each for refills of either. But if you are tired of seafood, it will do in a pinch.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    35
    15
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
WI
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Big mistake - don't go”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

So sorry that we chose this place for our last dinner in the Keys. We were hoping to go to La Nina across the street, but they were already closed. We would have been better off at the McDonald's drive thru. The worst service...the waitress came to our table twice, once to take our order and again to drop off our food. No drink refills, no "how is your meal", no "can I get you anything else?". We eventually had to walk up to the register to get out of there. She didn't even bring our check. The place was not busy enough to warrant such terrible service.

The food was nearly as bad as the service. The best thing I can say about it is that it was hot. We live in Wisconsin and get more authentic Mexican food at home.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“When you want a non-seafood restaurant in the keys”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Our daughter doesn't like seafood at all so during our week in the Keys we promised her at least one non-seafood restaurant for dinner. Lenchos was close to our condo.

Staff seemed....eh...lukewarm at best. We needed a little more attention than average, and our waitress seemed to handle that fine. But overall the attitude seemed to be a bit "impatient".

My chicken burrito was excellent! Seemed like it was made of hand pulled meat from whole roasted chickens. Fantastic flavor.

My wife had some mixed sampler, and she loved it.

Our daughter, a big Taco fan, had the beef tacos. She was disappointed in them. I tried a bite of one after looked at the ground meat. The ground meat seemed like plain hamburger which was overcooked and greasy. Not even flavored with traditional cumin based taco seasoning mix.

Inexpensive though, good value. 2 out of 3 meals was good.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Skip this place!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Discusting food and horrible service. Worst guacamole I have ever had, and the salsa was bland. The only reason I think this place is in business is because they offer a service for those who need to send money to Mexico. The food is a collateral business. Go to Taco Bell- it is just as unauthentic, but actually tastes better!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean City Md
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Mexican”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

My first impression was how clean Lencho's was. The floors and tables were spotless. The menu included a wide selection of Mexican dishes and beverages, and the prices were modest. They may have a license for only beer and wine because their margaritas were made with wine, not tequila (I didn't try it). Their service was fast and friendly. We had a pleasant dinner at Lencho's.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lencho's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Lencho's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lencho's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.