We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food at reasonable prices in Marathon” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Stuffed Pig

The Stuffed Pig
3520 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-2341
305-743-4059
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 72 restaurants in Marathon
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food at reasonable prices in Marathon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Right off Highway 1, it's so small you might miss it if you're not looking, so pay attention because the food is excellent and the cost very reasonable. The place has a homey atmosphere with air conditioned indoor or nice outdoor seating. The food choices were so numerous it was hard to choose. They make their own hot sauce line - mild is tastiest and the hotest is okay but good. Actually, nothing on the menu was very spicy despite being described as such. But that did not matter as everything was excellent. Try the Habanero Shrimp & Pineapple Skewers, my favorite, which comes with excellent wild rice, and add the awesome "spicy" fries as a side. Definitely a worthwhile stop for breakfast or lunch in Marathon.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    240
    168
    58
    24
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kannapolis, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great Food, Bring Cash!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Open for Breakfast and Lunch, they will not disappoint! This is a Cash Only restaurant, but definately not to be missed!
Dog friendly outdoor seating is available, so bring your canine companion!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

This is a great spot to get breakfast. That's the only meal we ate there so I can't speak to the rest of their menu. It seemed to be mostly locals, which I take as a good sign. Lots of choices and the waitresses were friendly. You can even eat outside on the patio in back if you want.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Clarke Shores, Florida, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in the Keys”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We ate there twice on our trip and enjoyed it both times. The service is a little slow, but hey, you're in the Keys - what's your hurry? The daily specials are written on big boards that they park next to your table. Add a Mimosa or Bloody Mary to complete the experience. Food is excellent. Say hello to the two cats that live there too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Lauderdale
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cash only would have been nice to know”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Luckily we must have gotten there in a lull because we sat right away....but that's about all that happened right away. About 20 minutes after we sat someone finally came to the table and took drink orders...that took about 10 minutes to come back. And when they did there was hardly any ice in the iced tea so it was lukewarm. We ordered, me a crab mushroom cheese omelet w hash browns and my friend the crab cake Benedict with hard yolk eggs. That took forever to get back. We even had to ask if very thing was ok. When the food came it looked beautiful, but my friends eggs were not cooked correctly and when they took it back and it got back to her it was obvious the eggs were scrapped off the top and microwaved. How obvious? Well, when she went to cut into them they LITERALLY popped on to her. No joke. It all tasted good, but the slow service started getting annoying. Then at the end we find out its cash only, which it doesn't say anywhere. Not sure I go back, the ambiance is nice but if it looks even a little busy I'd drive on.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stuffed Pig also viewed

Marathon, Florida Keys
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to The Stuffed Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Stuffed Pig, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.