We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is alright” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Chesapeake - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Chesapeake
11399 Overseas Highway, Marathon, FL 33050
+(1)3057311067
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Seafood, Hamburgers, Pasta
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Marathon, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Food is alright”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

The food was alright, but it was expensive. This is a small town and they should give discounts to the local when it is off season.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    1
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tried the Crab Cakes, but I guess my mileage varied...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Read the reviews on the Crab Cakes, so decided to give it a try... It was very soft, all broken apart and didnt have alot of flavor... Then we ordered a dessert, I guess they dont make them in house but from a place next door. Got a really small Oreo Cheesecake, it was very good. But didnt realize it was $9 for a small cut piece. There was no sharing this. Oh well good luck they have only been open a few months. I must of came on a bad night...

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We decided to try the new place in town instead of going to our usual spots. We weren't sure what to expect and the only review we had heard was that "there's crab on everything!!" Needless to say we were beyond impressed. They have a happy hour from 4pm-8pm, which was great! Their menu has so many delicious options it took us a while to decide. We started with the crab dip and since this goes on some of the entrees we wanted to try it first before ordering something with it on there. It was amazing!! An abundance of crab and a lot to go around. We ordered the 'crabby patty' partially because of the name (spongebob reference) and the other part because is sounded delicious. Ground beef short rib, grilled how you would like, topped with crab dip and then provolone cheese on a brioche bun... Mouth watering for sure! No ketchup needed. The other guests in my party ordered the exact same thing, the Cajun pasta with shrimp, scallops, and mahi mahi. There was an abundance of seafood and a huge platter of Cajun pasta. The seafood is placed on top so you don't have to dig around for the seafood. Don't expect a great ambiance but the food is over the top! We will definitely be back and will tell everyone to check you out! I'm a catering manger and was definitely impressed with the food!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Really Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Had lunch with friends because the boat captain recommended it, Everything was good and portions generous. The place is brand new and they're still working our the kinks, but staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful. Great lunch!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duck Key, Florida
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Had the crab cakes and pulled pork sandwich. The crab cakes were outstanding and the pulled pork sandwich was pretty good. Very reasonable beer prices. Hope they do well, this is the third different restaurant at this location in the last three years.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Chesapeake also viewed

Marathon, Florida Keys
 
Grassy Key, Marathon
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Chesapeake, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.