We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Went back for 2nds!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Butterfly Cafe

Butterfly Cafe
2600 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050
305-289-7177
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 77 Restaurants in Marathon
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Savor Florida Keys dining with award-winning tropical cuisine indoor or outdoor at Tranquility Bay Resort's own Butterfly Café. Butterfly Café captures the essence of island cuisine with an emphasis on quality, local ingredients and, of course, ocean fresh seafood in a beautiful airy Marathon restaurant setting. Open daily for dinner, the menu and wine list at Butterfly Café change seasonally. Children will delight in a special menu designed just for them. Dinner is served nightly from 6:00 PM to 9:00 PM at our restaurant in Marathon and reservations are encouraged. Dine outdoors on Butterfly Café's covered patio, or enjoy the impressive dining room inside with its soaring ceiling and casual yet sophisticated decor. Our dinner menu features tantalizing offerings like Florida Keys’ Shrimp Cocktail, Tropical Crab Cakes, Panko Encrusted Florida Grouper, Key Lime Pie, TDF 'To Die For' Sticky Toffee Pudding and more. Casual resort attire recommended at this Florida Keys restaurant.
1 review
“Went back for 2nds!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Four moms took our four daughters for their Senior Spring Break. We loved our food and dining experience so much that we came back a second time. Lynn was our server both nights and she took care of us like family!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

809 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    657
    112
    18
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“No butterflies in your stomach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful atmosphere. Food well prepared and delicious. Great place for a wonderful meal and evening. Would go back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“"No cafe here"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Food and service excellent but calling it a café is deceiving. Change the name to Butterfly Room or Butterfly Bay. The room is adorable, portion size perfect, service excellent, any kind of cocktail from the bar, and a menu with wonderful choices, can't say, enough. Grounds of Tranquility Bay are beautiful.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue Point, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A ray of sunshine in Paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

If you've been to the Keys you know that sometimes what you see isn't always what you get! That eclectic Keys look and feeling can make you question what you are about to get. That's why it is so refreshing to find this wonderful restaurant nestled in the Tranquility Bay Resort. My family and I enjoyed a cocktail as the wonderful sunset slipped into the Florida Bay to begin the evening. We were quickly seated and greeted by Cheryl who covered our menu question and presented my wife with her favorite cocktail (the restaurant's namesake) to start a fantastic evening. Everything ordered was prepared, presented and cooked perfectly. The service was impeccable and the prices are in line for this level of culinary experience.
As I had begun this review, the eclectic Keys are why we travel to them, but why not enjoy a wonderful evening of fine dining while here. We look forward to our next visit!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waquoit, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Gem In Marathon Key”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

This is not your ordinary restaurant in the keys. This is a place where you can enjoy a quiet meal without the noise from the bar. Where they serve great food, attentive servers, and the best key line pie in the keys. Go and enjoy!!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butterfly Cafe also viewed

 
Marathon, Florida Keys
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Butterfly Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butterfly Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.