We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful dining experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Butterfly Cafe

Butterfly Cafe
2600 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050
305-289-7177
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 77 Restaurants in Marathon
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: American, Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Savor Florida Keys dining with award-winning tropical cuisine indoor or outdoor at Tranquility Bay Resort's own Butterfly Café. Butterfly Café captures the essence of island cuisine with an emphasis on quality, local ingredients and, of course, ocean fresh seafood in a beautiful airy Marathon restaurant setting. Open daily for dinner, the menu and wine list at Butterfly Café change seasonally. Children will delight in a special menu designed just for them. Dinner is served nightly from 6:00 PM to 9:00 PM at our restaurant in Marathon and reservations are encouraged. Dine outdoors on Butterfly Café's covered patio, or enjoy the impressive dining room inside with its soaring ceiling and casual yet sophisticated decor. Our dinner menu features tantalizing offerings like Florida Keys’ Shrimp Cocktail, Tropical Crab Cakes, Panko Encrusted Florida Grouper, Key Lime Pie, TDF 'To Die For' Sticky Toffee Pudding and more. Casual resort attire recommended at this Florida Keys restaurant.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
“wonderful dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had fantastic service and meals. The mahi-mahi, risotto, salads, burgers, flourless chocolate cake - everything - was beautifully prepared and delicious. The atmosphere is "Keys casual elegance". Cheryl was terrific. We'd definitely return if we lived in the Keys!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    660
    112
    18
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stillwater, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

We arrived fairly late in the evening our first night in Marathon. The nice folks at the Butterfly allowed us to get a table after a dash to unpack our bags. The ambiance was lovely, our server Cheryl was attentive and knowledgeable, and the food was superb. We loved the risotto with scallops and all the salads and appetizers were beautiful and tasty. We had the Key lime pie, which was a fluffy, frozen rendition enjoyed all around. Our return visit on our last night assured us the good service and excellent food were not a fluke. If you are in Marathon, do not miss this gem.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millburn, New Jersey
1 review
“Great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I got the seafood bisque and tuna napoleon. Everything was delicious! The seafood bisque was great and I still had room for the tuna napoleon which was also wonderful. We got a slice of key lime pie and ice cream with toffee and fudge for dessert. That was also delicious. The service was great and the restaurant was beautiful. Overall a wonderful experience and I highly recommend it.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very nice meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Great service, atmosphere and food from start to finish. Our meals here were far superior to the one we had at a much pricier restaurant in Key West.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
1 review
“Great food, nice relaxing experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We had great food and a very relaxing evening of dining. Nancy was our server and did a very nice job of taking care of us. The salads were good and crisp and the main dishes we had were delicious. We finished off the evening with the Key Lime pie and it was wonderful. The only problem we had was finding it. There is no sign for the Butterfly Cafe, it is at the Tranquility Bay Resort.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butterfly Cafe also viewed

 
Marathon, Florida Keys
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Butterfly Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butterfly Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.