We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gnarly Harley Paddle - Private Tours

Gnarly Harley Paddle - Private Tours
Sombrero Beach Road, Marathon, FL 33050 ‎
239-682-3319
Website
Improve this listing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Gnarly Harley Paddle Adventures is a full service paddleboard company located in Marathon, Florida. Gnarly Harley offers adventured filled Adventure Tours, private lessons and rentals. Our most popular service is our Adventure Tours, which take you through the Florida mangroves where you will find an abundance of wildlife including dolphins, manatees, rays, various fish and birds. During the tour the group will paddleboard through majestic mangroves then to a secluded island where you can explore, relax and snorkel. The tour includes paddleboard, snorkel-gear rental, beverages, and photos of the entire trip. You will be amazed on what you can find as you paddle through the pristine waters of the Florida Keys!
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Unique Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

This was such a great experience! The trip was easy to book, and we had no trouble meeting up with our guide, Justin, at Sombrero Beach. My friend and I were the only two on the tour, which was really great because everything felt even more personal. It was a really hot day, but the mangroves provided shade, and Justin had lots of water in the cooler for us, so we were fine (although it would have been great if we had brought a few beers)! It didn't take long to adjust to the paddle boards, even though neither of us has ever been paddle boarding before, which was good. The mangroves were SO awesome, and we saw tons of fish & crabs crawling on the trees & roots. It was so neat to paddle board through the maze of mangrove tunnels, and it was extremely peaceful & quiet! Justin was very helpful & friendly - we couldn't have asked for a better guide! He did a great job of pointing things out to us and narrating the tour. He also took a lot of amazing pictures, and gave us great suggestions for the rest of our trip! He put us at ease right away, and seemed to really enjoy what he was doing, which made it more fun for us. Overall, this was an awesome experience - not too expensive, right in Marathon, and it provided us with the chance to try something we've never done before!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    1
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cranford
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A great time on Marathon!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

My family (my wife, me and 4 children ages 13-20) went on a tour of the mangroves with Justin. It was a tremendous time. We had never done SUP before and Justin was patient with all of us and before we knew it we were off into the mangroves. Justin pays attention to all of the details (water, pictures, rest stops) and focuses on your family to make sure they are having a good time. The mangroves are literally a jungle labyrinth with fish everywhere you look. For an off the track adventure with extraordinary peace, quiet and natural beauty, you cannot beat this trip. It is worth every penny and will bring you great memories and stories to share. Highly recommended!

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“FUN!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

If you go to the Keys & staying in Marathon, looking for something FUN to do?, then give these guys a call. Private tours as well & Jeff is a great guide. Would recommend this company. Give them a try!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GnarlyHarley, Owner at Gnarly Harley Paddle - Private Tours, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Hi Shannon, we are very happy to see you had a fun time with us in the Florida Keys. If we could have done anything better to make your 4 star into a 5 star we would love to hear about it. Give us a call or email.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkland, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Paddle Board Newbies”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Paddle boarding has been on my bucket list for a while, so when we vacationed in Marathon this last 4th of July, we decided to try it! Fist, I have to say that the website is amazing. The pictures are so beautiful. We booked our trip and went out with Justin. I have to believe the guide does make a difference. Justin is just the nicest, and most helpful guy. He was so patient with us. Went at our pace. Shared his knowledge of the mangroves with us. Told us stories, brought great music. What I loved best about it is that he really seems to be enjoying himself as much as you are. He really knew his way around. Took us to really special, out of the way beautiful places. We just fell in love with the place and paddle boarding. Can't wait to try it again. And of course with Gnarly Harley!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tifton, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Had a Gnarly Time!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

There were five us in our group, including my 71 year young mother...and none of us had ever paddle boarded. Justin was awesome! He was super patient and....strong, as he had to catch my falling mother 4 times off her paddle board before we even started. hahaa!! We quickly decided it was best for her to sit and paddle...and she did great!! We did the Eco-tour through the mangroves. Justin was fun and informative. I highly recommend Gnarly Harley!!! I also recommend purchasing the GoPro picture package. Justin took almost 200 pictures and some video. Pics that we could've never captured on our on. He made sure to get many pics of everyone in the group, group shots, selfies, and even a nurse shark underwater video!! We had a blast with Justin at Gnarly Harley Paddle Board Tours!!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gnarly Harley Paddle - Private Tours also viewed

Marathon, Florida Keys
Marathon, Florida Keys
 
Marathon Shores, Marathon
 

Been to Gnarly Harley Paddle - Private Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gnarly Harley Paddle - Private Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.