We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Dell Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Dell Motel to your Saves list
Sea Dell Motel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   5000 Overseas Highway, Marathon, FL 33050   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 19 Marathon B&B and Inns
aberdeen uk.
1 review
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights in September. Bit worried when we saw the outside of the accommodation but it was lovely and quaint. Front desk was really friendly. Restaraunts and sports bar in walking distance. We called it our little shack. Would stay here again if ever back in Marathon

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    152
    44
    10
    5
See reviews for
93
200
20
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I stayed here during a roadtrip of the States, with a trip to the Keys. We couldn't really afford to stay in Key West, but had a car and it only took around an hour to drive there so we did a day trip instead, and spent our other day around the local area in Marathon.

This motel is down the road from Sombrero Beach which is a really peaceful, beautiful place. It's also in a central location near restaurants and fast food, and other convenience stores. All the staff were absolutely lovely, providing us with towels for the beach/pool, map of the area, nearby attractions and restaurants, happy to answer any questions and generally really welcoming.

The room itself was really clean, with a fridge and a microwave, and there are barbecue areas and picnic tables you can use. The pool was nice to have, and the room was really quiet.

Cannot go wrong with this motel, especially considering the price. I would expect to pay more for something to this standard. Definitely recommend and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed again in the end of May 2013, won my repeat business with very clean room and pool with nice staff. Corner unit #12 behind office and next to pool has king bed and very little noise other than next door unit door closing loudly. Can't go wrong staying at the Sea Dell, take it from a frequent Keys visitor from Ft Lauderdale.

Room Tip: corner units have king bed for same price. Get coffee and breakfast across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Sea Dell is in a perfect location in the middle keys and we had a wonderful experience there. The staff was friendly, the room was clean and the price was right. It's everything I hope for in a motel. We paid a lot more money to stay in a nice resort the day after and it didn't offer much more than this!

We had a king size bed, a nice TV, microwave, refrigerator and coffee pot in our room. If I ever head back to the keys, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Our family - mom, dad, 3 grown children - stayed here for its proximity to the Dolphin Research Center. Welcoming, very well-kept, and charming in an old style way. We had a large room with 2 queen beds and a rollaway, microwave, kitchen sink, and fridge for a great price. Loved that we could use the pool after hours, since we arrived late after a long travel day. Plenty of places to eat in the area; front desk provided a map of local establishments and good recommendations. Delighted that guests were given free copies of the weekend Wall Street Journal. Quick and easy checkout; 10-minute drive to DRC the next morning. A very pleasant stop, and a much better value than most other hotels in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purmerend
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We had a good stay here. Clean room, good beds, nice pool with towels at the reception. Good restaurant across the street. It doesnt look very good from the outside but the fish was delicious. At the keys most hotels are very expensive but this hotel offered a good price.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My family just spent two nights at the Sea Dell while exploring the Keys and we were very pleased. The Sea Dell is a quaint old Florida style motel - it's not luxury, so don't expect that. The room was clean and the beds were quite comfy. The pool is well maintained. The ladies at the front desk are friendly and helpful. Their restaurant recommendations were spot on. Accomodations in the Keys can be sketchy, but the Sea Dell delivers at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Dell Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Dell Motel

Address: 5000 Overseas Highway, Marathon, FL 33050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Dell Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the "Old Keys" in a lush, tropical setting in Marathon - the "Heart of the Florida Keys". Beautifully furnished rooms. Refrigerators, microwaves and coffeemakers in each room. Hi-speed internet. Heated pool. BBQs and picnic tables. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sea Dell Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Dell Hotel Marathon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Dell Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.