We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Restaurant - service not great.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Island Fish Company

Island Fish Company
12648 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050
(305) 743-4191
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 72 restaurants in Marathon
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Manchester, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant - service not great.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We had a nice meal and my wife took along '4' and a '0' candles which she secretly gave to the waiter to put on my desert.
They brought desert out without lighting the candles and said 'sorry nobody had a lighter but they sell them in our gift shop' - go figure.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    403
    364
    152
    61
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Miami
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Yummy Food With A View To Match”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I was so hungry on the way to Key West and my first choice was the seafood buffet at Whale Harbor but it was closed due to smoke contamination. So decided to keep driving on Overseas highway and found Island Fish Company... so happy I took a chance. Lovely location by the marina, had its own dock and even a helipad. They were featuring Mexican Sunday specials but I ordered the Grouper Sandwich blackened style and some margaritas. It was a serious sandwich. I love that the Grouper portion was bigger than the Kaiser bun. It was fresh and cooked just right. (See pics) The meal came with fries, slaw and gorgeous view of the marina. The margarita specials were good too..made with your choice of premium tequila. I can only give 4 stars for now cause I sat at the bar and have not experienced full dining service but will definitely come back again :)

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“100% Delicious!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

My husband and I came to Long key for our honeymoon. We wanted to have a date night and drove past
"The Island Company". we ate their our fast night, fell in love with the food!! Everything was delicious.. we had no complaints.
To end the trip with a bang we ate their one more time.. 100% Delicious!!
Tell them the Newelyweds sent ya from Wisconsin!!
Enjoy :)

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergamo, Italy
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“fantastic!!!!!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

a hidden gem on the way to\from lower keys. Ask to be seated on the deck with a stunning view of the sea. Fish is very fresh and cooked in a farm friendly way with homemade sauce! They produce their own sauce and there is a nice bar rodeo-style with an extensive beer selection.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

While in Marathon we ate at the Island Fish Co. three times. Each meal was good. We had grouper, stone crab and fish soup for example. We sat by the water and had a nice breeze. We would recommend this place. The stone crab meal was close to $100 for two - we thought it was a good value for the money.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Fish Company also viewed

 
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Island Fish Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Fish Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.