We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just drinks but were yummy!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Island Fish Company

Island Fish Company
12648 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050
(305) 743-4191
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 72 Restaurants in Marathon
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Port Huron, Michigan
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Just drinks but were yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stopped by on our way to Key West just for a drink. We ordered their Key Lime Coladas. They were truly one of the best drinks we had on our entire vacation from Miami to Key West. It was sweet but not overpowering and just the right amount of Key Lime.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    415
    388
    157
    64
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Amazing food and great sunset!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

You must try the stuffed hogfish! it's incredible! The food was fresh and the portions generous! incredible sunset view!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pompano Beach, FL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A new lower Keys favorite!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We're in the Keys for our annual vacation, and after a grocery run to the best Publix supermarket in a 50 mile radius, with groceries in the cooler, we find ourselves hungry. Torrential downpour brings 5 foot visibility on the roads, and we start talking about waiting out the storm and grabbing a bite. Never been to Island Fish Company in Marathon, it looked always busy, and now we found out why.

Our luck, a parking spot opened just as we pulled in, and in front of the main entrance. We walk in, and after getting our bearings, we opt to sit at the bar instead of sitting waterfront and getting wet. It's a little cooler there too.

The bartender Jordan welcomes us, informs us of the specials and takes our drink order. They had something I hadn't seen or experienced in easy 25 years, since I was on the Ku'Damm in Berlin one summer. They offered a fruit juice infused beer called Steigl Radler, which was very refreshing and different. Long before "Arnold Palmers", summertime in Germany you'd find many different beer and fruit juice offerings that beat the heat and offered a light beverage to enjoy. This was an instant hit!

We started with the crab cheese dip, went on to the seafood quesadilla and fish sandwich, and had an incredibly great meal in a wonderful atmosphere, reasonable prices, great service, who could ask for more?

How about the deep fried Key Lime Pie? Curiosity got the better of me, and we tried it. Coated in a light batter, deep fried, and covered with cinnamon and sugar, it was definitely different, delicious, and eerily reminded of us of that tasty delicacy found at Mardi Gras in New Orleans, King Cake! Portion was too big for us to finish, it covered the sweet tooth need properly.

Happy hour specials, food's phenomenal, service was great, definitely a new lower keys favorite!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Nice views, ok food, expensive”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This restaurant was right across from the holiday inn where we were staying, so we decided to try it. The food was ok, but it was very expensive for what you get. The service was so so, and our waiter seemed like he was doing us a favor by dealing with us. After we ate there was a nice area to walk around by the water and take pictures of the sunset.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Marathon restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Waterfront restaurant with great keys atmosphere and good food. Nice place to sit and enjoy the easy pace of the keys. We recommend!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Fish Company also viewed

 
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Island Fish Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Fish Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.