We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Island Fish Company

Island Fish Company
12648 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050
(305) 743-4191
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 72 Restaurants in Marathon
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Ormond Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

Our group ate 2 breakfasts here and 1 lunch, the breakfast was definitely better than the lunch. Egg white omlet with spinach was delish, fish tacos were kind of disappointing for lunch. Great views and we had great service on all 3 trips.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,080 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    415
    387
    157
    64
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Waste of Time”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This was yet another mediocre seafood place we stopped at where we had really high hopes but were just let down. The food is decent but not outstanding. The service was borderline terrible and it was just another overpriced place on our way towards the Keys.

Maybe some of the restaurant owners through the Keys might read this: It doesn't matter how good your food could be, if your service sucks, you suck. If your servers can't be upbeat and attentive, get rid of them! A good server could give you fish scales on a plate and make you feel like you didn't deserve to eat it because it was so good.

Ok so what was good? It was clean, had a decent atmosphere and the food wasn't bad. That was about it. We waited about 10 minutes to be seated despite many empty tables. Like I always say, to each their own but I would rather forget how much we wasted coming here. Should've just went to Wendy's.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Horrible Service - Do NOT go here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Service is horrible, the waitresses are rude, and management is incompetent. If you want to enjoy a nice meal in a nice friendly environment, then you need to stay away from this place.

We went there and got seated at a very uncomfortable picnic table, our waitress was slow and didn't even have the courtesy to come to the table to take our orders. About 10 minutes after asking for water we finally got two cups of water, the waitress didn't even bother to ask if we had any questions or if we were ready to order and simply disappeared. About 20 minutes of sitting at a very uncomfortable picnic table with no waitress to be found, we decided to sit at the table located next to it. After about 30 minutes of sitting there with no waitress, no food, and no service we decided to ask the hostess to find our waitress. The hostess returned to the table and adv us that our waitress had "gone home for the day" then proceeded to send another waitress who had walked passed us numerous times and did not even bother to acknowledge us and the fact that we had been sitting there for a very long time with no food and no service. This blond waitress was the rudest person I have ever met in my life, and had the nerve to raise her voice and be utterly nasty to my mother when my mother asked her about the other waitress leaving for the day. Seeing the nasty way this blonde waitress was speaking to my mother, I decided to ask this rude waitress for the manager and then she proceeded to throw a fit. When the "manager" on duty finally arrived, he was as helpless as they come and told us it was our fault we didn't receive good service, and did not even apologize for the way his staff treats the customers.

The service was so bad that we decided to leave the premises. I have never in my entire life left a restaurant before, even when I thought service or the food weren't great, but this experience was so bad that I couldn't stand the thought of spending 1 more second surrounded my rude, slow, and incompetent people. WORST experience ever! Save yourself some trouble and stay away from this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglasville, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great food & great service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Restaurant was clean & food was great! There was a good view. We had the fried shrimp and it was great! Not too greasy or too much breading. The next time we come down, we will definitely go back to this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Over Priced & Hidden Charges”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This place is a tourist trap. If you didn't order a meal for over $20 you received what tasted like frozen Gortons or Mrs Pauls entrees. Without warning there were up charges for Grouper (when ordering the fresh catch sandwich or meal), new potatoes instead of fries, & ordering the fish blackened. Never again will this place be on our itinerary.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Fish Company also viewed

 
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Island Fish Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Fish Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;