We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best piña colada and hog snapper ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Island Fish Company

Island Fish Company
12648 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050
(305) 743-4191
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 77 Restaurants in Marathon
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Naples, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best piña colada and hog snapper ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic food and fun atmosphere with an attentive staff and beautiful water view. Best dining on Marathon hands down.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    451
    423
    172
    70
    58
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A great meal in a beautiful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I was on my way out of the Keys from Key West when I saw this place from the road and decided to stop. Its is built on the ocean, and is beautiful. It was lunch time and the lunch menu was reasonably priced. The service was excellent , When I told my waiter I was really hungry he had the plate in front of me in a couple of minutes. I had yellow snapper, lightly breaded with coconut, served on a bed of fresh salad with sliced strawberries. Nathan, my waiter asked where I was from and when he found out I was travelling that day he offered to get me a plastic cup of water for the road. He put ice in it and slices of fresh lemon and it was a refreshing drink on that very hot day. This return was very pleasant and delicious and just the place to stop at while driving through the Keys.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not recommended”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We went there for breakfast. My husband and daughter had 2 pancakes, my son had a fruit cup and I had a couple of eggs. The food was average. Service was just ok. Views were nice. Price for that small amount of food was horrible. Just shy of $60? That's ridiculous! This place has a nice view and that's about all it has. We won't be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Atmosphere not worth it!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

The building/view are quite nice and our server was prompt and friendly. The food was awful. I ordered grilled shrimp tacos. The shrimp (only thankfully ate one but still got sick as all get out that night) was not grilled but microwaved and had been probably been thawed and refrozen a few times. The server did not seem surprised at all when I showed her the shrimp. Gross.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good first meal in the Keys”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived to our resort, it was raining and we were tired. Still, we wanted to try something rather than standard hotel fare. We chose the Island Fish Co and we weren't disappointed. It had poured for about 15 minutes before we arrived, but the sun came out and we were able to sit in the part of the restaurant that had a nice view of the water but we could stay dry if it rained again-which it did. The food was great and the family-friendly, casual atmosphere was nice. A great first place to start our vacation off right.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Island Fish Company also viewed

 

Been to Island Fish Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Island Fish Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.