We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for food, fun and sports” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Marathon Grill and Ale House

Marathon Grill and Ale House
5800 Overseas Hwy, Gulfside Village MM50, Marathon, FL 33050
+1 305-743-5888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 80 Restaurants in Marathon
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Great food and fun. We offer full service restaurant and bar. Featuring a number of microbrews and our very own Marathon Grill cocktails. Daily lunch and dinner specials, game day Sunday plus game night Monday and Thursday. Giving you a late night option for food and drinks. Entertainment on weekends!
Milford, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great place for food, fun and sports”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We are part time residents of the keys. I was delighted to see the Marathon Grill open up since our last stay. The food was great. I enjoyed the scallops and lobster dip. They have a huge selection of beers and plenty of flat screen TVs showing all kinds of sporting events going on. They also offer entertainment. Other than going to Key West, they are the only place you can eat until 2am.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    25
    8
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
“Lunch never again dinner yes”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

We had lunch there so slow had to wait over 45 minutes for medium rare burgers and fries. Oh god get rid of that please. But all the same dinner was awesome way better than lunch.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marathon, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Learning Quickly”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

This is still a new restaurant, trying to work out the kinks. We had hamburgers and beers recently. The food was mediocre, a hamburger that you can have just about anywhere much better. It's a noise place so be prepared. As a Marathon resident we wish them well and hope that they make it. We need them in town. We will continue to visit this restaurant, giving them constructive feedback so that they only get better every day.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holden Beach, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Food & Drinks@Greater Prices&Greatest Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Can't beat happy hour prices. Bartender Erin is a pleasant pro. Interesting salads and well prepared meals. Will accommodate special diets (gluten free) and not act put out about it. I am personally not a sports bar or beer kind of person but even without a view this place is too good to pass up. Unlike many other restaurants this place is geared to locals as well as tourists and you will get your moneys worth. If you are tired of feeling like the bars & restaurants are taking advantage of you, Try it, you'll like it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good food in Marathon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014 via mobile

We had a hard time finding a place to eat that was not fast food. Arriving Marathon in the late evening and getting our bearings we stopped here. Not the best decor and a bit dark but friendly staff and accommodating waiters who really tried hard to please. Coconut shrimp and salad was very good. Key Lime pie was excellent. Friends had Chicken Marsala and said it was excellent and also noted excellent happy hour prices. Overall good food and excellent service.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marathon Grill and Ale House also viewed

Marathon, Florida Keys
 
Marathon, Florida Keys
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Marathon Grill and Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marathon Grill and Ale House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.