We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best keys experience to date” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort

Save Saved
You added Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2600 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
The Beach is on Sale!
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Marathon
Jupiter, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best keys experience to date”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

The family had an incredible experience in the keys and with Bert Watersports right on property made everything turnkey for our family and kids to enjoy. We spent a week there with another family and saw everything from couples to friends trips along with us and everyone enjoying the facility.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,673 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,127
    323
    109
    62
    52
See reviews for
898
375
15
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Hands down the best experience in the Keys. My wife and I stayed for a week, and enjoyed every minute of our stay, including the private dinner on the beach I arranged. The Staff is professional and very helpful, as is all of the restaurant staff. Plus the food is exquisite. If you looking for a place to stay in the keys do not hesitate to call them.

Room Tip: Excellent Resort with Beautiful Suroundings
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for three nights at the start of our Florida keys holiday at the very end of August. We arrived late (10pm) after driving down from Miami.

Our house, number 52 was not on the water front but to be honest that didn't matter as it was only a short walk to the beach or pool. We stayed mid week, (Wed/Thu/Fri) and it it was very quiet around the pool and beach, sometimes we had the pool to ourselves. We left on the Saturday morning which was Labour Weekend and there were lots more people about. Not sure what it would have been like when it was full but I suspect a completely different atmosphere.

The house was a two bedroom, two bathroom setup with a very nice double and two twin beds. Down stairs was a full kitchen, dinning table and seating area. To be honest we didn't do any cooking while we were there but you have everything you would need. Everything was very clean and of a high quality.

Over all a very nice place but it's not perfect....

You can't get breakfast on site, you can of course cook it yourself and there are lots of places with 10 mins drive, of which we visited three.

The Butterfly Cafe is very nice but expensive and there is no bar in the evening (the beach bar closed at dusk) where you can sit, have a beer and chill. Again you can do that in your house and maybe given that a lot of people will have children, there is no demand for a bar. We did have a drink one night in the cafe but if it was busy I'm not sure it would be possible.

And finally the wildlife, namely the lizards. Everywhere you walk there are small (up to 3 inch) geckos but the main issue was the iguana's. These are large and around the main pool there are quiet a few. At one point while sitting there we had them coming at us from three sides and although they eat fruit and flowers my wife found it very off putting. They are also chased by the cats which live there and on two occasions we saw the iguanas go into the water and swim across the pool.

As my wife said, if she had been in the pool and had a three foot iguana swimming directly at here she would have freaked!

So yes it's a great location and if you like to self cater then it's great but if you want a more hotel environment then it's not quiet there. Apparently they are building some hotel style rooms and a gym so maybe the bits we missed will be there soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We had a very good 5 night stay from Aug. 23 to 28 at Tranquility Bay, after spending 3 nights at the Westin in Key West. We had a great time. There were 6 of us (me and my wife (late 30s), 2 daughters (ages 6.5 and 4.5) and my in-laws (70)).

The resort (currently) is all 2 and 3-BR townhouses, though I think they are building some hotel rooms or 1-BR units. We stayed in a 3-BR, 2.5 BA Oceanfront Townhouse. The townhouse itself was very spacious and had plenty of room for the 6 of us. And it was very well-kept and clean. We were in #37, which was perfectly located for us, with doors that opened up right out onto the sand and water view; just steps out the backdoor to the Tiki Bar; and just steps out the front door to the huge pool that my kids loved. The beachy sand and the pool were great for my kids. There were plenty of shallow areas in the big pool, and the pool is really very large (claims to be the biggest in the Keys). My kids also loved the iguanas and lizards that were at the property, too.

The resort is called Tranquility Bay and it is set-up as a relaxing, peaceful place. There is not a lot to do on-site and it isn’t set-up for any type of late night partying, as the Tiki Bar closes as soon as the sun sets. There is no smoking allowed anywhere on-site (which we liked, generally, though my father-in-law wouldn’t have minded an occasional cigar somewhere). And there was no drink service at the pool. I presume all a part of creating the tranquil atmosphere that existed while we were there. For the Keys, the beach was outstanding. I say “for the Keys” because the Keys’ beaches aren’t of great quality, generally. If you just want a magnificent beach, go to Grace Bay or somewhere like that.

Service was outstanding, whenever we requested anything. But I wouldn’t go here necessarily expecting to be waited on at every turn. There is no drink service at the pool and you won’t find a lot of staff outside of the Tiki Bar or the main restaurant/lobby. And while the grounds looked very nice, you didn’t see a lot of staff working to keep it clean. After a day of pretty good rain, the pool was a bit dirty and probably needed some more attention than it was getting. That happened on our last day there, though, so I don’t know how that turned out.

Michele, Lance, Jay, Jeff and Mike (the manager) at Tiki Bar were all great. Sorry guys, but we all thought Michele made the best drinks! The food at the Tiki Bar was better than expected. All of the food served at the Tiki Bar is made right there, outside at the Tiki Bar. And we were surprised at the quality. The Margherita pizza was outstanding. And the Butterfly Café is a really outstanding restaurant. Not cheap, but worth a visit for a very nice night out. My wife and mother-in-law say order the Butterfly Martini at the Butterfly Café and the Blueberry Mojito at the Tiki Bar.

The Turtle Hospital was well worth a visit. My kids loved it. And, of course, your entrance fees for the guided tour go to a very worthy cause (saving / healing injured turtles).

Would have liked or could be improved: (1) Drink service at the pool would have been nice; (2) Towels available at pool (you have towels that you generally take back to your room to allow to dry outside overnight, though the resort will replace those towels any time you request); (3) at least a couple of staff members available around the grounds/at the pool to address guests’ questions/concerns and provide service to guests; (4) no 20% service charge on deliveries of the food to the room; (5) Safe in the Master Bedroom (there was one in a guest bedroom); (6) you couldn’t lock your “back door” after exiting it (or at least I couldn’t), so we had to either leave our room unlocked or exit via the front door (the back door is the one, for us, that opened right onto the beach and to the Tiki Bar); (7) would have liked a little bit more in the way of activities for smaller kids. But, to be clear, these are really all pretty minor complaints or suggestions.

By comparison to the Westin in Key West, the Westin was more like a normal hotel (much smaller rooms) with a lot to do right at the resort or within a very short walk of the resort. Tranquility Bay was very different. It was very laid-back; large townhouses for rooms; and more self-service style. We enjoyed both hotels very much, and Tranquility Bay was a nice break from the running around in Key West.

By comparison to Hawks Cay on Duck Key (note that it has been 2 years since we went to Hawks Cay), there were definitely more activities for the kids at Hawks Cay (including a Kids Club and a Pirate Ship pool and dolphins right on site). But our kids enjoyed Tranquility Bay very much. It was much easier to get around Tranquility Bay by foot (Hawks Cay uses a shuttle system to help you get around a large property). Our townhouse was definitely much nicer and cleaner at Tranquility Bay, and spilled out right onto the beach and the sunset view. That was all much better than at Hawks Cay, where I don’t think any townhouses spill out onto any beach. I also heard someone complain that at Hawks Cay, you are staring at the big bridge all day. That didn’t bother me when we were there. Overall, Tranquility was much more laid-back and had better rooms and beach/view for a bigger group of people and Hawks Cay had more for the kids to do and more service (like drink service at the pool).

Overall, we had a very good time and would go back. And the resort was very much worth the price we paid for the stay.

t-scholtes@hotmail.com

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We've stayed at Tranquility Bay several times before, and each time we return, we add an extra day to our stay. The setting is truly beautiful and the villas match.

The bedrooms are a good size and the bathrooms are clean. The tranquility of the resort certainly reflects its name; just a short walk from our villa, we could sit and dangle our feet over the water, watching the fish playing beneath us. The ambiance of the resort was very relaxing and calm. The swimming pool was also lovely - very warm and clean, perfect for a swim if you're not so keen on being in the sea with all the fish!

Just a couple of things which would have made our stay even more perfect: the third bedroom (twin room) didn't have a television, which would have been nice for nights when you can't sleep; the staff at the lobby also weren't perhaps as friendly as the could have been - we went in with the intention of asking the names of the cats (as suggested in the welcome pack), but left without asking as the man behind the desk didn't exude an air of friendliness.

However, these are just tiny things, and certainly won't dampen our experience. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

What a beautiful place this is. Will definitely return. Bedrooms were luxurious. 3 bdrr 3 bath, 3 balconies. Lots of room for rest and relaxation. Great restaurant. Beach and Kayaking were fun. Then a drink at the Tiki Bar while watching a fabulous Florid Keys sunset. Thank you God.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orpington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed here in August 2013 for 4 nights and were very impressed by the whole resort. The pictures really do not do the apartments justice. They were much larger than we anticipated and were extremely clean and comfortable. (The apartments are serviced everyday which was also a bonus I we were not expecting!) The resort is perfectly placed for exploring the Lower Keys and it is an easy and picturesque drive down to Key West. All the staff here went out of their way to make our stay perfect in every way and the booking service is very easy. There are also plenty of options to eat at the resort and many amenities close by to pick up 'the essentials' for your stay. We would highly recommend Tranquility Bay Resort Marathon and were sad to leave.

Room Tip: We would recommend the garden units close to the "adult only pool'. We did consider paying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort

Address: 2600 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort located in Marathon Florida, the heart of the Florida Keys. Here you will find more than unrivaled peace and seclusion on your Florida Keys resort vacation, while overlooking the sparkling waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Sink into serenity with one of our unique two or three bedroom beach houses. Our spacious Marathon Florida resort beach houses have 2 or 3 bedrooms, 2 plus baths, gourmet kitchens, expansive porches overlooking the water, flat screen TVs, and handmade furniture, offering an idyllic Florida Keys resort experience nestled in a tropical oasis of calm and ease. Now you can also discover the addition of 16 new luxury single-level "Tropical Garden Guestrooms" which offer more intimate accommodations than the resort's larger beach houses. Enjoy all of the amenities of Tranquility Bay Resort with more affordable luxury in mind, and tropical garden views.Next, try award winning dining at Butterfly Cafe, a 2.5 acre white sand beach, world class fishing, diving, snorkeling and water sports, three tropical swimming pools, and our beachfront TJ's Tiki Bar, all framed by 12 acres of picturesque gardens. Located just 90 miles south of Miami and 45 miles north of historic Key West, Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort is easily reached by car or plane. Boasting delicious dining, Florida Keys' attractions, plus a nearby Championship 18-hole golf course, tennis courts, state parks with incredible beaches, protected waters for diving and some of the best sport fishing in the world, you can define your own paradise at our unique vacation destination in the Florida Keys. Find your center in the Middle Keys at Tranquility Bay Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Loews Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TravelClick, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquility Bay Beach House Hotel Marathon
Tranquility Bay Beach Resort
Tranquility Bay Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.