We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True Tranquility...most of the time...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort

Save Saved
You added Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2600 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
The Beach is on Sale!
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Marathon
Macungie, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“True Tranquility...most of the time...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Beautiful sunset views at Tiki Bar. Great bartender (Jeff). We had a 3 bedroom home...loved everything about it. Room for a family of 5. Home was clean and airconditioning worked GREAT! Nice sized pool (didn't go in adult only pool as I have kids). Butterfly Cafe was excellent and staff very friendly. Went paddleboarding and jet skiing...had a lot of fun. Some things they need to work on...
1. If you make rules, someone needs to enforce them. They have a no smoking policy. I saw several people smoking. I honestly don't mind if they smoke outside, but the resort tells you they will fine you if you smoke...My husband would have loved having a cigar while watching sunset, but we kept to the rules.
2. I thought they had a limit on the number of guests/room. Our first night there our neighbors (thin walls) had 7 adults and at least 6 kids. Again, I don't really care, but they were loud as hell until 1 a.m. But again, is this the resorts problem? or just bad manners?
3. I KNOW I saw people at the pool who are not registered guests. I watched them hang in the pool, get out and smoke their cigs, dry off with their own towels (resort provides you with yellow towels) and then walk directly to the parking lot. Again, do I really care...? yes, if the pool is crowded and I can't find a seat for me or my family after paying top dollar for our vaca.
4. Tiki Bar closes at sunset. It was so relaxing sitting by the beach, watching the kids play or just be, but you cant buy a cocktail while doing this....of course you can bring your own....
5. Guests bringing their own boom box to the pool to listen (loudly) to their own music (yeah, you guessed it...my neighbors!).
6. Tiki Bar and Butterfly Cafe do not serve breakfast. I understand I was staying in a home that had a full working kitchen, but we enjoy eating out and I enjoy NOT COOKING on my vaca, so it would have been nice to just get up and walk to a restaurant.
7. Be aware that housekeeping only does a "light" cleaning...so if you want new towels...throw them on the floor. If you leave dishes out and about in the room, make sure you put them IN the sink so housekeeping will put in dishwasher. If anything is left on a table, it will stay there.
8. But, I must say, the few times I called the front desk (which closes at 11 p.m.) and asked for more tissues, more beach towels or a repairman for my safe....they were there pronto.

Room Tip: I stayed in room #20 which was right next to construction but it actually didn't bother us. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,676 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,129
    324
    109
    62
    52
See reviews for
900
376
15
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed at Tranquility Bay in July. The rooms, pool, and grounds area were extremely clean. The beds were comfortable and the den/kitchen area was a good size. We stayed farthest away from the pool and the view of the water was incredible. It is also less then a mile from a Publix grocery.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was our second stay here and this time we brought our friends we loved it so much the first time. We rented a 3 bedroomed beach front house with a stunning view of the ocean and very conveniently placed for the tiki bar.

This is a great place to hang out with Jeff McCaffrey, the best bartender in town. He is super informative, friendly and makes it his mission to make your day. He pointed us in the direction of great places to go and I can say we now count him and his family as friends. I can recommend the Butterfly Cafe as somewhere to dine along with Castaways (one of Jeff's recommendations).

The houses are equipped with everything you will need and there was ample room for all six of us. Maid service every day. This place is right on the roadside but is so peaceful you would never know it. We saw wild dolphins from our bedroom balcony, you don't get that everyday. There are 2 pools, both of which are lovely but we found it hard to drag ourselves away from the beach to be honest. If you want to get out and about on an evening and have a drink the hotel will order a taxi for you. This didn't break the bank and made our evening at Castaways a great one. We hope to return again to our little bit of paradise.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York State
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We stayed at Tranquility Bay for 4 nights and enjoyed every moment. The resort had much to offer kids. We have an 11 year old and a family that travelled with us have an 11 and 8 year old. There was the pool and lagoon for swimming. Putting greens to practice golf skills. Sunset Beach was a place our family and the family traveling with us, but staying in a different unit, enjoyed while the sun went down. The resort does have water sport activities for rent, but we did not take advantage of that opportunity.
Staff was very polite and professional. Whenever we passed a staff person, we were greeted with a smile and a nice chat. Front desk very helpful.
Location is great. We drove just a bit to play a round of golf. Key West was a scenic drive away. Bahai Honda with its beautiful beaches and snorkeling a quick drive away. Great central location if you are looking to do some exploring.
Unit had a full kitchen, which allowed us to have meals at the resort in the comfort of our own space. This is also a way to save a few bucks. Every day we had a big breakfast in our unit before setting off on our adventure. The fact there was a dishwasher made food prep and cleanup simple.
Washer and dryers being in the unit was also a huge perk for our family.
We enjoyed our stay and would recommend resort to anyone visiting Keys.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Great property,we've been coming from the uk for the last 4 years.
6 friends stayed and there was plenty of room and well fitted out,kitchen wise as well with 2 bathrooms.
We were beach front close to the tiki bar,very handy lol.
2 lovely pools,1 just for adults,nice and quiet.

Highly recommend relaxing at the tiki bar especially at sunset with some great cocktails and great company from Geoff the very informative,intelligent,engaging barman.He is like a local tour guide for free,use his local knowledge on restaurants and places to visit,top man!

Will definitely be back!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kappyfish
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We loved this place. Clean, staff is attentive and friendly. Pools and Beach are great. The Butterfly restaurant is great and the Tiki Hut on the Beach was wonderful with good food! They have boats that you can rent through a private service on the beach, also kayaks, paddle boarding and jet ski's. The pool's and the beach are only a short walk from any of the rooms. The kitchens are more than adequate. It is on the Gulf side so you can easily see the sunset!

Room Tip: Try for a room on the beach, if not all seem to be good, some with putting greens right outside the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We recently drove to the keys from Cape Coral for a snorkelling trip. It took us 3 hours to drive as far as Key Largo and a further 3 hours to get to Key West - we then headed back towards Marathon and tripped over Tranquillity Bay. Otis was on Reception and very helpful - he could only offer us a beachside 3 bedroomed cottage - we went to have a quick look and loved it so took the cottage for one night. It was complete luxury - the accommodation is outstanding, very bright, clean and modern and the views from the bedroom balcony and lounge porch are amazing. You step right out of your lounge onto the beach. Restaurant very good - service excellent and food beautiful. We loved our stay - there was 4 adults in our group and total cost for the nights accommodation including all taxes came to $450 for all 4 of us - for a 1 night luxury break well worth it and couldn't recommend it more highly. Views breath-taking, beds amazingly comfortable, grounds kept to highest standard, excellent beach & beach bar and great watersports set up. If we come back to the Keys we will only stay here - thanks you to Otis and team.

Room Tip: Beachside cottages overlook ocean and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort

Address: 2600 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort located in Marathon Florida, the heart of the Florida Keys. Here you will find more than unrivaled peace and seclusion on your Florida Keys resort vacation, while overlooking the sparkling waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Sink into serenity with one of our unique two or three bedroom beach houses. Our spacious Marathon Florida resort beach houses have 2 or 3 bedrooms, 2 plus baths, gourmet kitchens, expansive porches overlooking the water, flat screen TVs, and handmade furniture, offering an idyllic Florida Keys resort experience nestled in a tropical oasis of calm and ease. Now you can also discover the addition of 16 new luxury single-level "Tropical Garden Guestrooms" which offer more intimate accommodations than the resort's larger beach houses. Enjoy all of the amenities of Tranquility Bay Resort with more affordable luxury in mind, and tropical garden views.Next, try award winning dining at Butterfly Cafe, a 2.5 acre white sand beach, world class fishing, diving, snorkeling and water sports, three tropical swimming pools, and our beachfront TJ's Tiki Bar, all framed by 12 acres of picturesque gardens. Located just 90 miles south of Miami and 45 miles north of historic Key West, Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort is easily reached by car or plane. Boasting delicious dining, Florida Keys' attractions, plus a nearby Championship 18-hole golf course, tennis courts, state parks with incredible beaches, protected waters for diving and some of the best sport fishing in the world, you can define your own paradise at our unique vacation destination in the Florida Keys. Find your center in the Middle Keys at Tranquility Bay Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amex, Expedia, Hotels.com, Loews Hotels, Travelocity, Tingo, TravelClick and Venere so you can book your Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquility Bay Beach House Hotel Marathon
Tranquility Bay Beach Resort
Tranquility Bay Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.