We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite resort!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort to your Saves list
Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2600 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Rates of the Year!
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Marathon
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our favorite resort!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

This is our favorite vacation destination. There is a lot to do in Marathon and you are only 45 min. from Key West. We have stayed here many times since they have been open and the experience is always the same...perfect. The grounds are lush, tropical and very well maintained. We stay in a two bedroom and are steps away from the family pool, which is the most beautiful I have ever seen. There is an adult pool, but the family one is so large that we never felt crowded. I would recommend this resort to couples looking for a romantic resort or for families who like to have all the amenities on property.

Room Tip: We like unit 31, steps from pool, ocean view,quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,421
    415
    147
    82
    64
See reviews for
1,090
539
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (540)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan City, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

There are many positives about Tranquility Bay and a few negatives. I'll start by saying that the beautiful lush landscaping simply cannot be any more gorgeous. Beautiful palm trees abound and the pool is large and very relaxing. We stayed in a 2 bedroom... smallish but ok for just the 2 of us. Bathrooms were definitely on the small side. nicely decorated but not quite what the pics on the site show. We were beachfront, in the Flamingo section... which is Condo's # 1-5. Our view was spectacular however.....

The resort is RIGHT next to the Turtle Hospital. Nice if you are going to visit it... but NOT so nice if you are in one of the first few condos... (I'd say numbers 1-4). You can hear them speaking LOUDLY through their microphones every day 3 times a day and you hear the whole entire speech that is given outside. The first day we thought someone was just talking loudly but as it went on, we realized it was the Turtle Hospital Tour. You can actually even hear it from inside the condo and as for sitting out on the deck during the talk.. forget about it. My 2nd complaint is the housekeeping... they do not clean every day, which I knew going in.. but all they DO do is empty trash and maybe leave clean towels. They are supposed to "deep clean" and change linens every 4 days. This never happened with us. They NEVER deep cleaned or changed the linens and we were there for 8 days. I swept the floor (with a small handle broom and dustpan that was under the sink) myself twice. One of the days the only thing they did in the whole place was to take out the kitchen garbage. We are neat and clean people so it isn't like the place was a mess or anything but for $3,000 a week... I'd have expected a bit more.

I agree with the other reviewer regarding not having beverage service available at the pool or beach. It would have been nice but we, as did everyone else, ignored the "no beverages allowed" rule at the pool and beach got frozen pina colada's from the Tiki Bar and brought them to the pool. It was 95 degrees and HOT out there!

We would stay again but would probably not want to be in Number 1, 2, or 3... unless you love to hear all about turtles 3 times a day....

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

This was our 2nd trip to Tranquility Bay and once again it was an awesome stay! This time we stayed at one of the BeachFront Beach Houses, which we highly recommend, as it is in middle of everything! Plus, you are directly on the sand/beach! And the views are incredible! These beachfront beach houses are great for everyone- families, couples, etc! We had small children with us and they were able to play on the sand while the adults watched from the porch or even the kitchen! It's so convenient!! The kids and grownups LOVED the pool as well! They also enjoyed catching small crabs at the beach. It was a great stay and we plan on returning again this summer! We highly recommend Tranquility Bay for anyone seeking a vacation at the Keys!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

We had the most spectacular accommodations at this resort property. Our beach house was right on the beach. Literally walking out of our porch onto the shore just 20 steps away. There were tons of activities to keep the family busy, from jet skis, boating, kayaking, sailing, vollyball, the works. The dining facilities were the best in all of Marathon. We truly enjoyed our experience and cannot wait to make a return trip soon.

Thank You to management and staff for their hospitality during our stay.

Room Tip: Homes on the beach sand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orange county, ca
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Quite sad really--this place could have gotten 5 stars from me if it were not for some matters that really really dampened things for us during our stay:

There is no drink service at the beach (or pools) and in fact, there is a sign on the beach asking people not to drink there which is LUDICROUS. In almost 100 degree heat are they really expecting people to walk to the Tiki Bar every time and consume the entire drink there and then walk back to their beach chair???? Is this a joke?

Well, let me tell you that NO ONE OBSERVES THIS SILLY RULE AND FOR GOOD REASON. The main pleasure of a tropical vacation is to sip a cool libation while lying on the beach. I suspect they have this silly rule to avoid trash and resultant bugs on the beach. Well, they have failed. The resort does NOT provide trash cans anywhere accessible and therefore, the guests (who rightly refuse to refrain from drinking on their beach chairs) then put the remnants of their drinks on the beach).

Needless to say, THE BEACH IS CRAWLING WITH ANTS because of this--we were afraid to put our son on the sand since ants would congregate on him. Not very relaxing.

Then, there was the shocking poor management. Apparently, our villa was supposed to have a "do not disturb" sign which was missing. Twice I asked staff what we do if we did not want housekeeping disturbing us every morning and no one thought to mention "gee, why don't you put your do not disturb sign out--don't you have one?" I mean, isn't that obvious?

What really made me angry is that my husband and I had set up blockades in our villa since our baby is crawling everywhere, and when I called the manager to ask that housekeeping NOT do their deep cleaning (which they do every 4 days) in our villa, he actually said "YOU CAN NOT CLEAN IT YOURSELF" I then stated that I did not intend to clean anything myself, and that I simply did not want anyone in there to undo the babyproofing and also because we as a family are sensitive to the smell of harsh chemicals.

Can you believe--the guy kept giving me a hard time!!! Excuse me, we paid over $3000 for a waterfront villa and I don't have the right to privacy? Finally, the manager begrudgingly agreed to let housekeeping know not to come in. Well, what do you know--we came back from a snorkeling tour to see that housekeeping HAD come in, done their "deep cleaning", all the baby blockades were undone, and we spent the rest of the day and night COUGHING AND SICK from the smell of harsh chemicals!

We were understandably furious. Again, the manager never thought to ask why we didn't just put our do not disturb sign up, or inquire if we had one. Something so obvious. I don't believe for a second that the manager told housekeeping because of the guy's demeanor during his conversation with me, and why would housekeeping want to create more work for themselves? It was the manager's fault.

The positives were very large villas--we had 3 bedrooms--everything was huge. Beach is really just a bay, but I knew that going in. Typical of the Keys, very shallow, warm, seagrass, but we didn't mind. I just wish they kept the sand clean--we did not see a staff member rake the sand once in the almost 10 days we were there. Butterfly cafe food was great--the front desk gives you their menu at check in, but not their wine list which makes it hard to order room service. Pools are nice. We liked staying in quiet Marathon.

I provided my comments to Singh Resorts over 2 weeks ago, and if they'd contacted me and offered an apology or any contact at all, I would have refrained from writing this review. However, my comments were not acknowledged in any way and I feel people should know the problems this resort has.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

The lush landscaping, pools, and layout make you feel like you are miles from any other place.
The family pool is fantastic! Even when it was crowded, you had plenty of space and chairs.
The beach is a dream!! It has different areas for different activities. Plenty of space for everyone!!
It was quiet. The pool. The beach. The front porch of our beachfront house. Everything was quiet.

Room Tip: The grounds are gorgeous-every room is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

Absolutely a tropical paradise! Staff was all GREAT! Bedrooms and baths too tiny for comfort and ease of accessing belongings.

Room Tip: Pack light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort

Address: 2600 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort located in Marathon Florida, the heart of the Florida Keys. Here you will find more than unrivaled peace and seclusion on your Florida Keys resort vacation, while overlooking the sparkling waters of the Gulf of Mexico. Sink into serenity with one of our unique two or three bedroom beach houses. Our spacious Marathon Florida resort beach houses have 2 or 3 bedrooms, 2 plus baths, gourmet kitchens, expansive porches overlooking the water, flat screen TVs, and handmade furniture, offering an idyllic Florida Keys resort experience nestled in a tropical oasis of calm and ease. Now you can also discover the addition of 16 new luxury single-level "Tropical Garden Guestrooms" which offer more intimate accommodations than the resort's larger beach houses. Enjoy all of the amenities of Tranquility Bay Resort with more affordable luxury in mind, and tropical garden views.Next, try award winning dining at Butterfly Cafe, a 2.5 acre white sand beach, world class fishing, diving, snorkeling and water sports, three tropical swimming pools, and our beachfront TJ's Tiki Bar, all framed by 12 acres of picturesque gardens. Located just 90 miles south of Miami and 45 miles north of historic Key West, Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort is easily reached by car or plane. Boasting delicious dining, Florida Keys' attractions, plus a nearby Championship 18-hole golf course, tennis courts, state parks with incredible beaches, protected waters for diving and some of the best sport fishing in the world, you can define your own paradise at our unique vacation destination in the Florida Keys. Find your center in the Middle Keys at Tranquility Bay Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick and Orbitz so you can book your Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tranquility Bay Beach House Hotel Marathon
Tranquility Bay Beach Resort
Tranquility Bay Beach Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tranquility Bay Beach House Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.