We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rainbow Bend Fishing Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Rainbow Bend Fishing Resort to your Saves list
Rainbow Bend Fishing Resort
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   57784 Overseas Hwy, MM58, Marathon, FL 33050   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 19 Marathon B&B and Inns
North Port, Florida
1 review
“We'll be back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

My friend and I stayed for two nights in early January, 2012. We really enjoyed all the features of this resort. Our greatest pleasure was the fishing. The expert staff was able to tell us where the fish were biting and we caught many fish. It was fun to cook our catch later on the outdoor grill while enjoying the beautiful view of the surrounding water. We stayed in the Jacuzzi Room which was more than adequate for our needs. The people in the office were friendly and helpful. We had a substantial breakfast both mornings at the restaurant. We are excited about returning soon with friends for more fishing, relaxing, and memories.

Room Tip: Talk to the office staff. They are very helpful and will describe the location and contents of a ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    158
    23
    33
    76
See reviews for
151
231
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Kisco, New York
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

We just got back from our trip stayed at the rainbow bend hotel for just a few days.The boat although has no covering for you in the sun is definitley an extra as it is included in the price.The first room we were given was probably the worst room there as it was on the side of one of the buildings and was dark and damp.No view except for a wall even though the room had a kitchen the couch was old and sunken in just dreary.The next day I complained about it and the girl at the desk had a bit of an attitude and suggested for the same price a room above the office which we took and which was better a bit brighter but the shower stall was rusty.Just kind of old and a bit run down.The dinner at their diningroom was excellent even though a bit overpriced I would go there again just for dinner.The fellow in the back who sets you up for the boat was very nice and helpful.The girl at the desk could have been a bit more pleasant I think she forgot how to smile and look like shes trying to please the visitor.I think for 50 dollars more a night you could find better.

Room Tip: speak to the hotel themselves and find out the location of the room before you book it,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Colborne, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

If you like old Florida this is the place for you. We just got back from a 2 week stay and had a great time. The rooms are clean and comfortable, they are not new. If you are looking for new and modern this is not the place for you. Make sure you get a room that suites your needs. Some rooms are small. The breakfast is cooked to order. The staff is very friendly and helpful. You can use the boats free, but must pay for the gas. It also has paddle boats and kayaks to use. The beds are a little soft, but not that bad. We will be going back next year. Book early if you need special dates as they fill up fast. Ther were family's with small children and they seemed to be enjoying themselves. The pool was large and clean. There chairs on the beach to use. Each room has its own private patio. We had a great time.

Room Tip: Room 18 is very small
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Our visit to Rainbow Bend was wonderful! We thoroughly enjoyed riding the boat in the crystal clear waters just a walk away from our room. The staff was friendly and helpful. We used the outside BBQ for our first night and it was fun to meet other visitors. While I cooked and took in the amazing view my daughter enjoyed the sandbox. Rainbow Bend is a great place for unwinding and making beautiful family memories.

Room Tip: The ocean front rooms are gorgeous
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

My husband and I have been going to Rainbow Bend for years. It's old Keys and that aspect of the Keys (aside from Key West) is disappearing. Rainbow Bend itself is actually on the market for sale. I'm glad the resort survived the housing boom where old resorts were torn down to make room for new developments which actually never transformed. It is expensive, but includes the use of the Boston Whaler (can't sink) so it is worth it. We've staying in a few different rooms and loved the beach one directly next to the pool. You're in an old resort so don't expect 5 star. But that's also what makes it wonderful. Do 2 or more nights. 1 night you must eat in the Hideaway Cafe right there. People staying at the high end Duck Key Marriot drive 20 miles to get to this restaurant. It's excellent and 4 star. We go to the local supermarket for the next nights dinner and do an awesome grill right there on the beach in their huge grill. We have caught our share of loster right off the beach with those Whalers. Kayaks are also free and a lot of fun.

Room Tip: Stop at grocery store and buy a grill dinner for one night and all your wine and alcohol. They do ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

We stayed there in December 2010. The place looks great on the web and seems like a good deal because it includes a rental boat but, surprise the fee for fuel is astronomical and it ends up being a very expensive deal. We were first shown a room facing the back and it smelled so we asked for different room and were upgraded for additional 30 dollar fee to a room facing the beach. The room/apt was OK, kitchen etc. but a bit worn down. We were there and the weather turned cold so we were unable to enjoy the water, the pool is a dirty dump and not heated. The restaurant serves breakfast which was adequate but very dingy and old feeling. A real disappointment, we felt that we were really ripped off.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

This is our third time at Rainbow Bend, 10 years ago being our first time. It just keeps getting better. This time we brought our dear friends with us and they have loved every minute. The location is just perfect. The room was clean and comfortable. The staff is lovely and helpful. Food is excellent. The next time we come we are bringing the kids and grand kids. They will most definitely fall in love with it too.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rainbow Bend Fishing Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Bend Fishing Resort

Address: 57784 Overseas Hwy, MM58, Marathon, FL 33050
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rainbow Bend Fishing Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Rainbow Bend Fishing Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Bend Fishing Hotel Marathon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainbow Bend Fishing Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.