We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Learning about Turtles” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Turtle Hospital

The Turtle Hospital
2396 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-2232
305-743-2552
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 15 Attractions in Marathon
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Zoos & Aquariums
Attraction details
Alabama
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Learning about Turtles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

An interesting tour and lecture by knowledgable personnel. They are providing a great service to the Keys.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    986
    246
    52
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Educational tour for animal and wildlife lovers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

If you are driving to the keys, the turtle hospital is a great spot to stretch your legs. They have tours every hour starting on the hour which takes you around the hospital to see sea turtles patients in treatment and rehabilitation.

The 90 minutes tour is informative and our guide most patient and knowledgeable. Keep in mind it is not a cruise ship excursion nor an aquarium. You will not get to play or swim with these turtles. You do, however, have a chance to feed them and take lots of photos.

Wildlife lovers might feel a little sad afterwards. It was a very educational experience nonetheless.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great place, but too long for little ones.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Its great what they do there, it's needed to bring awareness about boating and the environment. My nearly 5 year old daughter loved it, except for the 40-45 minute talk about turtles, tours are 90 minutes each starting on the hour. We did the 10am tour, she was a little tired, but that talk was too much for her. I got a lot out of it personally. We got to see surgery, through the window of course. The highlight was going to see the converted pool into a home for ill turtles, and the ones in tanks for rehabilitation. When we were there they had a baby turtle, they need to do more of that and release them into the wild. The gift shop is nice, and the prices are reasonable, we shopped around at the Sandal Outlet, spend your money at the hospital, better quality for a cheaper price and it goes to a good cause. I can see the 7 and up crowd really liking this place.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Key, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Help The Turtles”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Great facility. We got a group together and had a great time. We felt good donating to the worthy cause. AND at the townhouses where we are staying there was actually a turtle rescue. I saw the ambulance come around the building and thought it was a regular ambulance. Only to find out that someone on the beach reported a sick turtle. Amazing.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Turtle Hospital - Marathon Florida”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Loved the facility, very nice folks taking care of these sea turtles. The tour is a bit long with all they have to present. Would have been nice to have a shorter tour where you could see the turtles being cared for and then view other info at your leisure. Nice gift shop if you want to buy any sea turtle related items .

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Turtle Hospital also viewed

 

Been to The Turtle Hospital? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Turtle Hospital, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.