We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Educational Visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Turtle Hospital

The Turtle Hospital
2396 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-2232
305-743-2552
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 39 things to do in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bellbrook, OH
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
49 attraction reviews
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Very Educational Visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

My first visit to the turtle hospital. What I liked most of all was the orientation at the beginning of the tour where they provide a very good discussion about the purpose of the hospital and the challenges that turtles are facing given their declining numbers and habitat. The tour then takes you to see turtles that they have rescued and those that are being rehabed for release as well as turtles who are too injured to be returned to the wild. Although heartbreaking at times, it was wonderful to see the efforts going on to save sea turtles.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,691 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,283
    325
    64
    11
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mentor, Ohio
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 attraction reviews
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“very interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I loved learning all about the turtles and how they get hurt and are found and taken care of. Since I work in the medical field I couldn't believe how they had their own ambulance, anesthesia, and even xray machine!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Endangered Creatures”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

My husband and I, due to inclement weather went to this attraction today and learned a lot of information that we never knew about these wonderful endangered creatures. The relatively young tour guide knew what he was talking about and gave a wonderful presentation.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great for kids and adults”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Tour starts with informative intro to turtles and the hospital. Our tour guide was very knowledgable. She knew every turtle's name and story. Well worth the time and money.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint James City, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Thank you Turtle Hospital”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

All the work you all do is to be commended! We first visited there on our second trip to Marathon. I adopted Rebel, Bubble Butt and another for my nephew, but his name escapes me. Their educational tour is awesome. Whenever we come to Marathon we stop at the Turtle Hospital. I have several t-shirts and we stop so we can donate some dollars each time through. Keep up the good work!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Turtle Hospital also viewed

 

Been to The Turtle Hospital? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Turtle Hospital, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.