We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the bird” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gulf View Waterfront Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marathon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gulf View Waterfront Resort
Save
You added Gulf View Waterfront Resort to your Saves list
58743 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
372 reviews 372 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 145 cities Reviews in 145 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
“Loved the bird”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The property has two buildings, a coin washer and dryer are on-site, and the pool is very nice. The property is pretty and includes 5 birds and a turtle. Coco, the cockatoo/cockatiel/whatever, can talk; it also waves when it says hello. This is a pet friendly facility with large grassy areas. There is a bike/walking path about 1/4 mile South of the property. The rooms are large, the kitchen area is adequate, all appliances work well and, the bed was very comfortable. Gas grills are available; if they need gas, please let the owners know. As with most properties in the Florida Keys, the beach is not swimmable. Kayaks, canoes, and paddle boats are available and all are in good shape. I'd recommend going out only at high tide; it's an easy paddle to the North where you are soon behind the Dolphin Research Center and can watch the dolphins jump during the shows. (Highly recommend actually going to the Dolphin Research Center.) I can't believe I almost forgot this - the housekeeper is very friendly and a lot of fun - she leaves towel animals on the bed every day. It's fun to see what is going to be there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    93
    28
    14
    4
See reviews for
126
132
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Granger, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

very nice. great people we stayed for 3 days I wanted to stay 4ever ! very relaxing pool . and free use of the boats also close to dolphin research .our room was very clean and ready when we arrived .I also would recommend eating at sparkeys for happy hour good call from mike . my son really enjoyed the birds and the turtles . really did not feel life I needed to go anywhere it was very nice. and I would and will recommend this to anyone visiting marathon or the middle keys I CAN'T WAIT TO RETURN !

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

I spent the weekend with my family at the Gulf View. We were greeted by Stephanie and Mike, the owners, and were welcomed from the beginning and throughout the entire weekend. Our room was great and definately worth the money. We stayed in room 19 and it was very comfortable. This was one of the best stays I have had at a hotel. If you are going to the keys, this is the place for you!

Room Tip: Spend the extra money to get the two room suite. It is almost like home.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerville, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here. The property is very pretty and overlooking the Gulf. Our room was very clean and had just what we needed for our week's stay. Mike, the owner, was extremely friendly and very accommodating. He gave us some good places to go and visit and have a good meal. We really enjoyed our stay. It was quiet and calming. We fished off the dock, met the parrots out front, and had a nice time. We were about an hour from Key West and that is always a nice ride to take. We will definitely be staying here next year.

The Smiths

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zephyrhills, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Lots of places say they're pet friendly, but hit ya w/size, qty, or breed restrictions. Mike & Stephanie are wonderful people and truly are animal lovers. Our baby is an 82lb white, fluffy sweetheart and they made us feel so comfortable having her as a guest. The place is small, old (1968) very quaint and quiet. It was hit by Hurricane Wilma in '05 and they have done an awesome job rebuilding it. So, unless you're looking for a quiet, small, old Florida well run motel/resort owned by just awesome people sitting right on the water w/a pool, dock, cook out area and lots of lush tropical plants, there's no reason to stay there. If ya own a large dog and are tired of being turned down, this is the place you want in the middle keys. Oh yea, my dog was a little confused when one of the tropical birds living there said "I love you" ........... too funny!

Thanks Mike & Stephanie

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here... it was small and quiet... not too many rooms so not too many people. The pools was ours alone at times which is nice compared to some places where the crowds were too much.

The place was clean and comfortable which is more than can be said about many places. I would only fault them on our kitchen lacking some basic utensils.

We would come back for sure.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pelham, Canada
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We just returned from a 6 night stay. The property is typically old Florida. The owners are wonderful people and any issues we had with the room/housekeeping were addressed immediately and with a smile.
The whole property could use some serious TLC, but for the money we spent I think we had great value for our time spent near Marathon.
The pool area was lovely and is true to the pictures that you see. It was very windy when we were there so we did not take out the free canoes or kayaks.
It was just okay for us, but I think it would be a great place for a family as long as you are not looking for a high end resort type place. There are nice BBQ's outside almost every room and there is lots of room and things to do for children. There is a lawn to play ball or get croquet from the office, putting green, pool, kayaks, hammocks and the often mentioned birds and turtles on site. There are different sized rooms and also small apartments. While we were there a large family stayed for a few days and the kids had a great time! You can't swim offshore but Sombrero Beach is quite close and free.
This may be the exact place you are looking for just read thru these reviews carefully!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gulf View Waterfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf View Waterfront Resort

Address: 58743 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our small, private and charming property is located at the North end of Marathon on Grassy Key. We offer 11 exceptional units ranging from guest rooms with refrigerators and microwave ovens to efficiencies and one and two bedroom apartments with full kitchens - an accommodation to meet your needs. (We even allow your family pets!) Enjoy the heated pool, one of the largest in the middle keys or go out on our complimentary kayaks, canoes or paddle boats. We provide free WIFI, daily maid service and complimentary coffee and tea each morning. We also have a boat ramp and dockage available.The Gulf View Waterfront Resort has been family owned and operated since 1995. Come stay with us and discover our little piece of paradise.Susan, Mike, Stephanie, Jack & Casey Thank you for your interest in the Gulf View. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gulf View Waterfront Hotel Marathon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gulf View Waterfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.