We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big disappointment” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Cay Resort & Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Coconut Cay Resort & Marina to your Saves list
Coconut Cay Resort & Marina
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   7196 Overseas Hwy., Mile Marker 51, Marathon, FL 33050   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 19 Marathon B&B and Inns
Gaithersburg
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Big disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Of all our vacation hotels and restaurants, this was the one big disappointment. When we arrived, we found that we had a room at the front, nearest to the highway. My wife is a light sleeper and we asked if we could have another room. We were told that there was virtually no traffic at night so it shouldn't be a problem. Traffic was continuous all night. It was a problem. On unpacking, we found there were no hangers in the room. We were going to call the desk but found there was also no phone in the room. When asked, the desk looked around and was able to find one hanger. We were told they would look for more but none ever appeared. WiFi reception was not possible in the room. I had to sit in the office or close outside it to get a connection which was lost if I tried going back to our room. Other residents I asked had the same problem. A very big inconvenience for planning. The bathroom floor and shower were in need of a serious cleaning. The only lights in the room were wall lights above the bed. There was no light for the table which made reading there difficult. Of course a table light would have used up the last available outlet in the room (no outlets in bathroom). And no mirror except in the bathroom. The only daily housekeeping seemed to be emptying the trash cans. The beds were not even made up. Even the rod to turn to open the blinds was missing. The TV had 2 remotes. It took us a day to figure out that one was for changing channels and the other was for changing volume. Finally, tiny insects were everywhere in the room. The property is obviously old but there seemed to be no effort to keep it clean or do things as simple as making sure there are hangers in rooms. And for all this they add on a resort fee.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    130
    41
    33
    47
See reviews for
125
142
11
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Very tropical, unique feel to this hotel. Large room - nice pool. Lots of things to do on the property. Only issue is location - right next to the airport which gets loud and kills the "relaxing" mood. I would stay there again but not for a full week of laying by the pool.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The World
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Great no frills motel. We had a dockside room - orginally hadn't booked this but changed our booking shortly before our trip. So glad we changed it! It was superb - loved sitting out on the dock and relaxing. We borrowed the pedal boats and canoes and went out and about - great memories! We also used the bikes they have and cycled around - it's great that they have so many things for their guests to make use of at no extra cost.

All staff were friendly and helpful. Eddie was great fun! Friendly parrots too! The rooms are clean, good sized and basic. Just what we expected. 'Fridge in room. Coffee available at front desk. Short drive to the beach. We got a really good rate for this place and enjoyed spending a few days here before heading down to Key West. I would love to come back to Coconut Cay and just chill out for a while. Such a great place to be. Beautiful!

There is a pool as well - we didn't actually use it as we were so busy doing other things. It always looked quiet as I guess everybody else was busy enjoying Marathon!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This resort was a welcomed blast from the past. It's not a big corporate cookie cutter resort but it breathes the spirit of the keys. Our family had a wonderful time. Kayaks, bikes, fishing, bird watching, the list goes on and on. Recommended,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fettercairn, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a privately owned and run motel. We had a dockside cabin with its own deck. Quiet, lots of birdlife. Everything is well maintained, freshly painted. The room very clean and all of the staff super helpful and friendly. Although its located at the end of the local airport there was no disturbance at all as its only light aircraft infrequently landing. Free use of bikes, canoes and kayaks and the creek is a quiet pleasure to paddle round. Manatees visit.
This a little gem of a place well located mid-Marathon.Easy bike trip to Sombrero Beach.
We were there four days and it made our trip to the keys.
Thanks

Room Tip: Choose one of the dockside cabins (with or without) as I think this the best location of the motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed in the larger home provided by Coconut Cay Resorts. It provided rooms for three couples. The house was in fairly good condition but needed some TLC. It was clean and provided clean towels and linens. The little cottages look nice from the outside. We took the kayacs out one day. Also you can take the local bus into Key West. Lots to do in the area and restaurants. The owners were very helpful.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

This place was perfect, rooms are huge and clean. There is a back garden where you can have your own BBQ. The staff was really kind and polite. Location is great if you travel within the Keys but want to stay in a quiet place.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coconut Cay Resort & Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Cay Resort & Marina

Address: 7196 Overseas Hwy., Mile Marker 51, Marathon, FL 33050
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Coconut Cay Resort & Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Coconut Cay Resort & Marina offering the comfort and charm of a Bahamian style resort, located on the scenic gulf side of Marathon, Florida. We are minutes away from Sombrero Beach, Bahia Honda State Park, the Historic 7 Mile Bridge and Pigeon Key Historic Site, Museums of Crane Point Hammock, great snorkeling, scuba diving and fishing. Your senses will delight in our colorful motifs, shimmering palms and glorious year round sunshine. Your mind and body can relax in our 24/7 pools. Come and enjoy an island life style of total relaxation in our comfortably priced accommodations. It’s a tropical oasis in the heart of the Florida Keys. Come, SEA and play in our ocean, the way it used to be. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Coconut Cay Resort & Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Cay Resort And Marina
Coconut Cay Resort & Marina Hotel Marathon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Cay Resort & Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.