We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Takara Japanese Restaurant

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Takara Japanese Restaurant
3740 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-2390
305-509 7183
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 72 Restaurants in Marathon
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

During a recent drive from Orlando to Key West, I noticed that almost all of the Thai restaurants I passed were also sushi restaurants. It made me wonder why this is, and whether either type food could be very good.
After eating at this place in Marathon, I got my answer. While I didn't get served the best red curry I've ever had, it was very good. I asked for Thai spicy, and got it. The ingredients were right, the portion size was generous, the rice was tender and tasty, and the service was good.
Recommended!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    11
    7
    0
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Pretty good Thai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We have visited 4-5 times. It was always good. Never too busy and service always good. We would go back again. Usually about $50 for 2.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Horrible......”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

Well I have been going there for 5 years and have always enjoyed the food..until a few days ago when I was shocked to be told the price doubled and when I questioned why the price double a customer got up started shouting at me that I was a lair and he had never seen me there and wanted to pay for my meal so I would leave and never come back.. And every time I tried to defend myself he just shouted louder.. Finally I left in tears only after I paid my own meal.. So I will not be returning ever again..

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nice, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“If you want sushis”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stopped there with the kids as they were clamouring for sushis. A lot of local guys and a familly atmosphere. Nothing fency but the sushis were okay and the staff friendly.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Thai food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for light food fare rather late on a weeknight & were referred here by our deskclerk at Sea Dell motel. Showed up at 9 p.m. & staff were wonderful to make drink recommendations & service was good. Don't let older decor affect your impression because the food was the best Thai Payang & Masumura. Didn't rush us at all. Very accommodating.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Takara Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Takara Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Takara Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.