We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Beach, Calm Waters” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sombrero Beach

Sombrero Beach
Mile Marker 50, Marathon, FL 33050
305-292-4560
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 38 things to do in Marathon
Attraction details
Toledo, Ohio
Top Contributor
282 reviews 282 reviews
45 attraction reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
“Lovely Beach, Calm Waters”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

This is a great beach if you prefer placid waters. There are bathrooms and outdoor showers. It would have been nice if a changing area was provided. The toilets were full of folks changing clothes with people waiting to relieve themselves.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    630
    359
    104
    29
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Savage, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Nice public beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Free parking available, but no life guards present. The beach is "natural", which means lots of sea weed on the beach. There were only small waves the day we were there. There is a small area of sandy bottom, then a large area of weedy bottom. We had water shoes to protect our feet. Attempted snorkeling, but there is nothing down there except the weeds.

There was someone renting paddle boards for $20 an hour, which our group tried.

There was a playground, but my kids were more excited about the beach and we did not use it.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dennis, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Public Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

This is a public beach with lots of space. They seemed to clean it pretty often as well. It also had a playground area that is pretty spacious. The kids loved it.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drake, Colorado
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Sand and sun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

This is a great little beach, as others have mentioned. Not touristy at all, lovely water, bathrooms, playground, picnic tables. Grab sandwiches from Laura's Deli, apply sun screen and head to this beach for a great day of sand, sun and gentle surf.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful water, kid friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Great facilities. My only complaint is all the sea grass that was everywhere. It would have been nice if the city swept the beach each morning, but both times we went, there was so much sea grass it detracted from the beach. The water was amazing and our kids loved it here. We went to another beach in Marathon and it had even more grass and the beach was narrower, so Sombrero gets our vote for best beach in Marathon. ( But to us, it was worth the short drive to Bahia Honda! That is a great beach!)

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sombrero Beach also viewed

 
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Sombrero Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sombrero Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.