We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small but nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sombrero Beach

Sombrero Beach
Mile Marker 50, Marathon, FL 33050
305-292-4560
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 19 attractions in Marathon
Type: Beaches
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Attraction Details
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“small but nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

the best beach around. easy free parking, lots of picnic tables, a bit of shade from few trees- but make sure to get there early to get a spot if it's hot out! I got a bad jellyfish sting once, quite close to the shore, so watch out, but then came back 4 times and swam lots and it ws fine- must've been a stormy day.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    443
    241
    74
    22
    6
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Copiague, New York
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“nice local beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Small local beach, nice park, band shell,picnic tables, bathroom. If your hotel has no beach, this is a good stop.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice beach to visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We visited the beach for a couple hours, the sand is nice and fine and there was a playground , washrooms and a foot wash station available.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Superb beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

The showers, restrooms, picnic areas, shelters, children's play area in the park behind the beach make this beach very attractive. Parking is also easy.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

I'm so glad I looked up places to go in the keys before our trip, otherwise we never would have found this hidden gem. It's a little drive off the main road so we made a stop here on the way out to Key West and beautiful doesn't even begin to describe it. The sand was soft and the water was crystal clear. Truly paradise. I'm used to the beaches in NY where the water is dirty and the sand is littered with broken glass and cigarette butts. The water here was calm and there were only a few people out so it was very relaxing to just take in the views. I only wish it was closer to the mainland where we were staying, otherwise we definitely would have come back again to spend more time. I'd say it's worth coming out to the keys just for this though.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sombrero Beach also viewed

Marathon, Florida Keys
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Sombrero Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sombrero Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sombrero Beach to your Saves list