We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and Dog Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sombrero Beach

Sombrero Beach
Mile Marker 50, Marathon, FL 33050
305-292-4560
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 15 Attractions in Marathon
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
Useful Information: Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful and Dog Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Beautiful beach in a lovely residential area. They offer Huts with picnic tables to entertain a group.Great playground that all the kids love. Clean restrooms. Kayak rentals and tours. And best of all, you can bring your dog!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

901 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    493
    287
    88
    26
    7
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best beach (we found) in Keys...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

It's hard to find a good, sandy beach in the Keys. That's not the attraction, really. Some beaches are rocky, some grassy and slimy (Anne's Beach) and too shallow. Some are too grassy and you have to climb over a big bank of stuff to get in the water (Bahia Honda). Sombrero Beach is beautiful (water freezing, it was December!), a great place to sunbathe... a couple of brave souls were snorkeling... nice playground and bathhouse. If we hadn't been staying so far from the beach, we probably would've trekked here every day. We looked at lots of other beaches because the water is so blue/green beautiful, you just want to get in it! This is the only one my 17 y.o. daughter could get all the way in. For people with really little guys I would stick to Anne's Beach which is really shallow...wear water shoes because it's very slimy and they may think it feels yucky, but the water is warm, clear and beautiful.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moline,Il
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“excellent beach and it's free”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

this is a great beach to go and just relax read a book sunbath and cool off in the ocean.they have nice restrooms outdoor showers and playground for the kids.only down side is there are dogs allowed on the beach if that bothers you. We always stay at bahia honda state park and still come to this beach to people watch.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

It was crowded when we went, the beach is clean but packed. Bring a chair and umbrella if you want to sit on the beach for an extended period of time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I really liked going to this beach, its very clean, very spacious and i loved how close it is to my new home, loved everything about this beach just wish there were more people my age around here to look at, a girl needs some eye candy. :)

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sombrero Beach also viewed

Marathon, Florida Keys
Marathon, Florida Keys
 
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Sombrero Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sombrero Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.