We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't get much fresher than this!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fish Tales Market & Eatery

Fish Tales Market & Eatery
11711 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050-3634
305-743-9196
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 80 Restaurants in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Takeout
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Can't get much fresher than this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Our family went fishing on the Marathon Lady and took our catch right next door where they cooked it right up for us! AWESOME! It is one of the best seafood restaurants I have ever been to and I've been to my fair share. I'll take this place over a nicer, fancier restaurant any day!!! Every one of the employees in there are really friendly and attentive. All of our food was hot and really good and came our really quick. The zucchini fish wrap was really good and my son's loved their fish sandwiches! If you are headed down to the Keys, I hope you take some time to stop in and get some really great seafood! We most definitely will be going back!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    104
    23
    10
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Marathon, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“great fish sandwich!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Great locals spot for lunch or early dinner. I get the rambler or fish burrito most of the time. Service is good food is good price is good what more do you need?

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuart, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Super Fresh!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

This place is alllll about fresh seafood. A quirky, fun little place. We fished on lady Marathon, walked over with our fresh catch and handed it to the chef...it was amazing!!!!! Half was fried to perfection, the other half was blackened to perfection! Great service, rubbing elbows with the locals. Can't wait to go back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
texas
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great, fresh fish, no-frills place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The fish was very fresh and a good buy for the money. We had grilled and fried mahi mahi sandwich, and it was less than $25, including drinks. Very light, flaky fresh fish. A good quality place.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Ohio
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Grouper!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We are in Marathon on vacation and I found this restaurant on TripAdvisor. We went for lunch today. We ordered a burger, shrimp, and beer battered grouper. All was very good! The grouper was delicious. Service was fast and good. The only negative was the key lime pie we ordered for desert was still frozen. Other than that it was all delicious!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rae53_10, Owner at Fish Tales Market & Eatery, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Fish Tales. We're very glad you were happy with your meal!!! We're only unhappy that you didn't like your key lime pie....and wanted to explain...
About our Key Lime Pie...we make the pie in house, using fresh key limes from our trees, make our own crust & our unique recipe is "frozen" to set it up. We know you were a little disappointed that it was frozen, but it only takes a few minutes to thaw...and we think it is a "refreshing" twist on other key lime pies.
Jackie, George & Johnny (who makes the key lime pies) owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Tales Market & Eatery also viewed

 
Marathon, Florida Keys
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Fish Tales Market & Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fish Tales Market & Eatery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.