We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and atmosphere!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Porky's Bayside Restaurant

Porky's Bayside Restaurant
1400 Overseas Hwy, Mile Marker 47.5 Bayside, Marathon, FL 33050-2117
+1 305-289-2065
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 72 Restaurants in Marathon
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Cuban, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Roscoe, Illinois
1 review
“Great food and atmosphere!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Had lunch at Porky's recently while on a family vacation in the keys. The food was great and our server, Rachel, was friendly and attentive. My husband had the mahi mahi, which was fantastic. I had the North Carolina peppered pulled-pork basket. I thought this was some of the best pulled pork I have ever tasted. Tender and seasoned perfectly! Just spicy enough to let the flavor come through. Delicious!! Our daughters both had the island chicken breast sandwich. They loved it and the French fries. Also loved the atmosphere at Porky's. A unique keys experience!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    126
    59
    27
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great "dive" atmosphere with excellent BBQ!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Our family really enjoyed our experience dining at Porky's! The beer was cold, the pork BBQ sandwiches were tender and delicious (especially loved topping it with their slaw and garlic mustard BBQ sauce!), and the sweet potato fries were crisp and served with an excellent cinnamon butter. My husband got the ribs and ate every bite. Not sure about those reviews saying the food was mediocre, because we had a great experience! We also had the fried green beans appetizer and ate every bite! Best of all, was the "dive" atmosphere. I loved the relaxed and laid-back feel with live music and tables sitting next to the bay. I totally recommend this place to take a break from the seafood!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not so good for the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stopped by Porky's on the last day of our visit to Marathon this year. We sat on the bayside at a booth and ordered our meal. The service was fast but rushed, the waitress was overloaded. Our food came quickly and it was okay.

The Green Fried Tomatoes weren't great at all; they were a little doughy inside not to mention that they were served with canned salsa. GFT need ranch or bleu cheese as a side. We ordered baskets that came with toast, lettuce, tomato, onion, and a side. My toast was soggy from the juice of the meat. I ordered fries and they were pretty awesome so I give them a plus for that.

Overall, for the money we spent, it was not a good deal. Oh, and the other thing, the condiments on the table were squeeze bottles which did not have caps on them. So with the flies about I didn't feel good about using any of it.

I would not return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fernandina beach
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Ok but wouldnt go back”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Food was ok (we went on Steak night), service was not so great but the flies were terrible. We almost couldn't eat our food the flies were so bad. My husband and I ordered the exact same steak but mine was thick and cooked correctly but my husbands was thin and overcooked.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PorkysBBQ, Owner at Porky's Bayside Restaurant, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thanks for dining at Porky's Bayside BBQ & Seafood. Apologies for the flies. We are an outdoor restaurant. Usually our fans keep these pests away. I spoke with our manager who usually works in the kitchen on steak nights and hand cuts all the rib eye steaks to order. By the way, most folks rave about our rib eyes, so we were disappointed to hear you didn't get what you ordered. The only explanation we can come up with is your server may have grabbed the smaller more well done steak by accident. Delivering it to your table instead of to the customer who ordered the smaller, more well done cut. We're sorry for the confusion. Our servers are very good about checking back with customers to make sure everything is to their liking. If you would have mentioned the problem at the time, we would have gladly replaced the steak with one of the appropriate size and doneness. We hope you'll give us another opportunity to shine on steak night.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearney, Nebraska
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Food and Laid Back Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Had some great barbecue at this restaurant. The food was great, the service efficient, and the atmosphere was definitely in keeping with the Keys way of life.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Porky's Bayside Restaurant also viewed

Marathon, Florida Keys
Marathon, Florida Keys
 
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Porky's Bayside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porky's Bayside Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.