We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“i liked herbie's as a real locals place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Herbie's Bar & Chowder House

Herbie's Bar & Chowder House
6350 Overseas Highway, Approximate Address, Marathon, FL 33050
+1 305-743-6373
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 83 Restaurants in Marathon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $32
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Seafood
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
toronto
Level Contributor
127 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“i liked herbie's as a real locals place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Not fancy but the service was good, the food was good quality and fair price. Overall we found the atmosphere to be fun and had a positive experience.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    48
    14
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marathon, Florida, United States
1 review
“great food great service!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

a great find. and our server heather was a rock star. the food was delicious go and enjoy great food and wonderful service!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Darned good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

The food was fresh, and simple. We had fish, drinks, appetizers. Off season and pretty vacant, they still greeted us with smiles and whipped up a great meal. The Mahi tacos were really good, and the key lime pie is really good too. This is a typical keys place to go, the real deal. Simple, and a step back in time. The building is small, and old but it's quaint. This is one of our old places we have eaten there many times.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mays Landing, New Jersey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great food, good prices”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This place was a real find for us with three hungry teens. Wait staff was very friendly and responsive and the food was great. Our teens don't even like fish and they found menu items to satisfy. Food is freshly prepared and tasty. Would definitely recommend Herbies.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“There really must be a li'l grandma in back cooking!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

First time to try a conch fritter and with nothing to compare it to, I'll just say my next one has to be really great to beat it. Delicious!

The mahi mahi tacos were amazing. I'd opt for a salted cabbage instead of lettuce & the option to have corn tortillas but otherwise perfection.

The fried shrimp were amazing. The coleslaw was not something I enjoyed in the least and the fries were just simple shoestring fries that needed to be seasoned or better yet a great steak fry.

The key lime pie should be offered as a free one bite sample when you first sit down so you be sure to leave enough room for multiple pieces after you've eaten. I'd say the pie could be addictive if you aren't careful. It was simply superb.

The servers were fantastic although an apron may have helped me not get distracted with the condiment spatters on them, but I realize it's hard to stay clean when working hard and fast. Their service and enthusiasm made me want to come back. To say they are friendly is an understatement. It's easy to want to make friends with them.

The restroom needs attention and is not designed to be accessible to those with special needs.

The decor of the establishment was dated with paneling and although I didn't mind it, I'd love to be the one contracted to give the place a facelift to keep its quaint down home feel while updating to be more modern and chic and watch the customers flock in as a result. I really loved this little old Florida establishment right down to the picnic tables.

If you want a clean, friendly dining experience with great food, stop in. Try to snatch a pic of the grandma I swear must be making pies. No one else could do it this good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Herbie's Bar & Chowder House also viewed

 
Marathon, Florida Keys
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Herbie's Bar & Chowder House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Herbie's Bar & Chowder House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.