We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our favorite” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brutus Seafood Market & Eatery

Brutus Seafood Market & Eatery
6950 Overseas Highway, Marathon, FL 33050
+1 305-743-9181
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 77 Restaurants in Marathon
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery
Description: Brutus Seafood is a fresh seafood market and full service restaurant who offers a wide range of signature sandwiches, salads and dinner entrees with unique daily specials. We feature only the freshest local seafood from the Florida Keys, certified Angus beef, slow cooked ribs, and delicious pasta dishes. Our cool relaxed tiki is the perfect place to enjoy your next meal! Brutus Seafood also offers fresh, in season seafood, and prepared homemade seafood salads. We also ship our fresh seafood anywhere in the continental United States. We are a family operated business who has been in the seafood industry for over 30 years. Stop in for lunch or dinner and be welcomed by our friendly staff!
Big Pine Key, Florida
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Our favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

As locals, we're in this place at least once a week, stocking up on containers of shrimp salad, cole slaw and black bean salad to get our Brutus fix. You can buy plenty of seafood around here, but somehow their stuff just tastes better. Seasonings, asiago cheese on the fries, hearts of palm in the shrimp salad, their attention to detail really shows. It can be crowded at lunchtime, since the word is out that it's not just a fish market but a restaurant, despite its outward appearance. But servers and counter staff are always courteous and efficient even when rushing around. I hear they are putting in expanded and more-comfortable seating, plus a tiki shelter for outside seating. Prices are not too high for what you get.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    76
    17
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Genoa, Italy
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“So good and cheap!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stopped here because we read the reviews in tripadvisor and didn't get disappointed. Try the fried conch for something typical. The portions are well served and it's not expensive.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“2nd visit just as good as the first”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

After driving by Brutus on multiple visits to Marathon, we finally pulled in to try them for lunch and check out the seafood market. We were greeted immediately by a very friendly waitress, I'm sorry we didn't get her name. We were the only people there, but the place filled up before we left. I ordered the southwest grouper sandwich, grilled not blackened. It had pepper jack cheese, avocado, salsa and was delicious! It came with a black bean salad which was unexpectedly chilled but was also fantastic. My girlfriend ordered a shrimp salad sandwich and loved it. Everything was extremely fresh and quick. Also about the friendliest place we have been in Marathon, the other waitress refilled my soda and my girlfriends water and asked us how we were enjoying our meals. We enjoyed it so much we stopped in the next afternoon. I had the same thing, just as fresh and delicious as the first, and my girlfriend had the shrimp tacos, which she loved. Our waitress was the one who refilled our drinks the first visit and was a pure delight. Again I can't say enough about how friendly everyone was. We will be back on our next trip to Marathon.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida, USA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Super Fresh & Tasty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

We decided to stop by Brutus Seafood for lunch after a morning trip to Sombrero Beach. I had a shrimp melt which was wonderful. The ingredients were so fresh, it was a real treat. The side of black bean pasta salad had great flavor. We took home fish dip which was excellent. We are already planning to return once more before we leave.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Over priced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

The portion size was small for the price that they are asking, we left hungry and with empty pockets, we will not be going back when there are so many other restaurants in the area that are better.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brutus Seafood Market & Eatery also viewed

Marathon, Florida Keys
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Brutus Seafood Market & Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brutus Seafood Market & Eatery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.