We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW! worst hospitality EVER!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Blackfin Resort and Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Blackfin Resort and Marina to your Saves list
Blackfin Resort and Marina
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   4650 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 19 Marathon B&B and Inns
Malabar, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“WOW! worst hospitality EVER!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed at the blackfin to run the 7 mile bridge. Booked 2 nights.

3 days prior arrival, got opportunity to go down to Key West. Tried unsuccessfully 3 times ( We work odd hours) to get information as to whether or not we could cancel the second night. This was 3 days prior to our arrival.

My sister finally got a window during bankers hours ( 9-5) and was able to reach the front desk. "Mike" answered the phone, and my sister asked it we could cancel that second night, and she explained to him that I had been calling in the evenings prior, and did not get a call back.

Mike said "our phone answering system is fine, and we recieved no calls from your sister" my sister argued that we had left messages. Mike told her "no your sister did not call us and no, you cannot cancel that second night, either you stay 2, or don't stay at all." She was dumbfounded, and asked, "so, you would rather have no business than one night?" Mike said, " figure out what you want to do, you have until tomorrow" and slammed down the phone.

The next day, she called back and got "Dan" he turned out to be the only thing worthy of staying at this place. He was kind, considerate, and explained that the phone system had, in fact, been down. Dan apologized all over the place, explained rationally and kindly that they have a 2 night minimum, and was sorry that wasn't conveyed properly.

The rooms are older, but clean. Our room had an adjoining door that apparantly backed up to our neighbors ice chest. As we had to be out on the bridge running by 7 a.m, it made it hard to get a good nights sleep with the constant chatter and ice clanging. Our neighbors also pulled up the outside chairs and chainsmoked until 2 am. with the smoke wafing under our door. ( you can see sunlight during the day under the door).

We did not stay a second night, and will not stay there again. Dan, you are wonderful!! go work with a more professional hotel!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    56
    21
    17
    12
See reviews for
28
72
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is an older resort with some updates. The room was spacious, the bed comfortable, and moderately priced for the keys. Boats were docked right at the back of the property and fishing was available as the resort sits right by the water. A handy location as it's about an hour from Key West and an hour from Key Largo. A discount would be available for return customers.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youghal, Ireland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We were here for four nights for our first trip to the Keys. We would definitely return and perhaps upgrade to a room with a kitchen.

The bed was very comfortable. The room is simple but clean with efficient air conditioning, a small fridge and a microwave. The only downside is that a lot of light comes in around the blinds so you wake up quite early in the morning. It would have been nice if a dark set of curtains could be pulled across the windows.

All the rooms are away from the highway so are quiet.

There is a small marina along with a lovely seating area with a palapa, hammock, sun loungers,picnic tables, barbecues and a resident iguana over looking the gulf side. Many folks in the marina and motel gather with drinks for the sunset and we met some really lovely people.

There is a restaurant, Hurricane, that offers nice food with friendly staff.

It's not fancy but it has everything you need for a relaxing, restful stay in the Florida Keys. My husband really enjoyed the fishing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saline, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

3/19- 3/23 Great central location in the Keys. Hour to Key West and forty minutes to Key Largo. Stuffed Pig- friendly staff -down the street(same side as resort) for good/reasonably priced breakfast. Short distance to Turtle Hospital which was very interesting. Ten/fifteen minutes to Bahia Honda State Park for snorkeling or beach time. On your way down to Key West stop at Baby's Coffee(best coffee I've ever had) and returning home get your Key Lime pie at Mangrove Mama's. If you are a Bogart/Hepburn fan, don't miss the African Queen docked in Key Largo at the Holiday Inn ocean side.

Room was clean, bathroom had shower only but was recently refurbished and looked new, however very small. Front desk staff friendly and helpful. Grounds were well kept. Pool was clean. Man made beach front was nice with chairs and loungers to watch the sunset. Reminds me of the old Keys motel-great 60's ambiance.

Heed the posted speed- do not exceed the speed limits!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

my wife and i had a great week there, place was clean and neat, folks were friendly there, would go back there. Nice bar in front next to motel office, good food ,prices were right, went fishing with the pelicans down by the marina, went down the marina at nice next to the little light house for sunsets

Room Tip: Get room close to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I had no problem with the basic 60's style of this place, the dirty floors, or the price premium charged in the Keys.
However the service I received from the desk manager really saddened me.
I am from australia and use international calling cards to ring home. My father has cancer and with the 15 hour time difference I would call him each evening (US time) to check on his condition after his treatment.
Despite offering free local calls, my phone line was dead. I politely asked the desk manger if he could connect my phone, to which he told me to press 9 for an outside line, as if I was a moron.
When I advised that pressing 9 did not get me a dial tone, he said bluntly that everyone has a cellphone these days anyway. He then looked away and went back to watching his tv show, turning up the volume as if to discourage any further disruption to his evening.
So as I headed out into the evening in search of a public payphone I was really impressed with not just the professionalism displayed, but the lack of compassion for an international guest.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

From the outside it doesn't look like much, but the rooms were very clean. The bathroom was small and looked like it was just updated. Very easy to find on the main road going thru Marathon. Excellent restaurant down the road near 7 mile bridge called te Sunset Grille.

Room Tip: In this area it seemed like a good value for your money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blackfin Resort and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackfin Resort and Marina

Address: 4650 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Blackfin Resort and Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blackfin Resort and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackfin Resort And Marina Hotel Marathon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackfin Resort and Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.