We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stop for Your sweet tooth in Florida” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Savannah's

Sweet Savannah's
11287 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050
305-743-3131
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 72 restaurants in Marathon
Cuisines: Ice Cream
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Portland, Oregon
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great Stop for Your sweet tooth in Florida”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

If you are ever traveling to or from the Florida Keys, stop in this little restaurant in Marathon, Florida. Great homemade deserts, cakes, cookies, ice cream along with coffee and espresso drinks. You might find it hard to leave and get back on the road.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    172
    45
    11
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A real find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We were staying in marathon and saw the sign for ice cream and bake shop. It is so much more than this. Pretty tea shop style place with a little garden at the back. Amazing delicious selection of ice cream, cookies, cakes and cupcakes. Also sells pretty childrens books and toys. Good coffee. Definitely stop here. You won't regret it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Opelousas, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Key lime cupcake”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This is a MUST stop! Had the key lime cupcake which was extremely fresh with curd in the center, icing was not overly sweet! Perfect! My son had the red velvet and dark chocolate with chocolate icing cupcakes with a mocha coffee! Don't pass this up service was quick and plenty of parking available!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Local homemade cupcake + ice cream dessert place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This is a one-of-a-kind local combination ice cream and cupcake dessert place that also bakes small-volume bread. Cupcakes ($2.99) vary between daily specials and tried-and-true favorites. Good combinations, most with some kind of gooey fruit or chocolate center. Buttercream just this side of too sweet - but it is definitely made with real butter. One of the days we were there, they were softening the butter above one of the ovens; many pounds of real butter. These folks definitely know how to make an appealing cupcake.

Good variety of ice cream flavors. Very creamy. The requisite key lime pie (slice or whole). Large-size cookies. And some bread pudding and a few other desserts. Seems like everything is made on premises. Very clean, welcoming inside, with a couple of small tables just outside the door.

Somehow manages to cater to families, kids, and the discerning adult.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing cupcakes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stopped by Savannah's after dinner one night because we wanted a sweet tooth fix. Their featured cupcake that day was Bacon Maple. My husband and I split it and it was the best cupcake I have ever had. The combination of the bacon in the maple frosting was delicious! We ended up going back the next day to try their ice cream and a different cupcake. From now on when we are in the Keys, we will be stopping. We are definitely hooked on Savannah's!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Savannah's also viewed

 
Marathon, Florida Keys
Marathon, Florida Keys
 
Marathon, Florida Keys
Marathon, Florida Keys
 
Marathon, Florida Keys
Marathon, Florida Keys
 
Marathon, Florida Keys

Been to Sweet Savannah's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet Savannah's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.