We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No and no and no...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cocoplum Beach and Tennis Club

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marathon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cocoplum Beach and Tennis Club
Save
You added Cocoplum Beach and Tennis Club to your Saves list
109 Cocoplum Drive, On the Atlantic Ocean, Marathon, FL 33050   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Fort Pierce, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“No and no and no...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

The place needs a lot of upgrading. The kitchen is small and very dated.
The carpet on the spiral staircase is so worn, you will not want to go barefoot.
It was furnished probably in 80ies and not touched since.
The beach is not pretty, the layer of sand over the rocks( concrete?) is so thin you feel what is under.We did not like it but ants seemed to love it there. The plants in ocean are thriving...
I hope that the owners will stay there for a week and see what needs to be done for this place to be what it could be, taking into consideration that it is a great location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    71
    21
    19
    13
See reviews for
146
46
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sorrento, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed July 6-13. The property manager, Davina, did everything asked of her to make our stay great. If the owners would put a little money into upgrading some carpet, and a few other decor items, this place would be high class. There are alot of steps, so if you have health issues, or are older and less mobile, you may want to look elsewhere.

The pool was beautiful. It was large, and impeccably clean. We spent every day playin in, or by the pool. The resort is ocean front, but you may be beter served to go to one of the area beaches...lots of seaweed.

Overall, great time, we have a new annual tradition!

Room Tip: The oceanfront is worth it. Pay the extra for the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Gilligans Island Getaway Place- beach front cracker style homes with wrap around lanai- furnished with full kitchen and laundry- sleeps six with comfortable beds and really clean- pool and hot tub- chairs on beach- this is the place to relax. Boat dock with electric and water. Excellent family style vacation.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Springs, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We live in Miami and enjoy the beaches and parks, but going to Cocoplum is almost like going to Aruba - it's the only time I feel totally relaxed. We love the screened in wrap-around porch and slide-through window from the kitchen and eat all our meals out there. The ocean breeze and the trees and landscaping are fantastic. We have come here twice and have brought groceries both times because once we settle in, we don't really feel like going out in search of meals. We'd rather hang out at the resort, by the pool, jacuzzi or beach. The lady at the front desk, Divina, is very friendly and helpful. There are games and books that you can get from her should you get bored. We've never had that problem! :) The place is very neat and clean. We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

We just returned from a weeklong stay at Cocoplum. It was 3 adults, including one senior citizen, and 3 children. We had a totally amazing time.

First, the location of Cocoplum is fantastic. It is convenient to everything Marathon has to offer, but yet is in a quiet, undeveloped location. (If you want a hectic, super developed beach community, head over to Key Colony Beach. The difference is night and day.)

Cocoplum is right on the ocean and they have their own white sandy beach, which is not very common for the Keys. The villas themselves are fantastic. Plenty of room for all of us; 2 full bathrooms, Wi-fi; a full kitchen that was well-stocked; THREE TVs; a huge screen porch, great for drying towels, swimsuits, etc., your own full-sized washer and dryer; ice cold A/C; convenient BBQ grills. Some have said the villas are dated; I do not agree with this at all. Our kitchen was new with granite countertops and an over-the-range microwave. The decor was very nice and tropical. (The picture on their website is a true representation.) The villas are 3 stories high, so we had a fantastic ocean view, although our unit was not classified as such. We had absolutely no problems the entire time of our visit. The grounds include a tennis court (we did not use), a nice hot tub, and a nice pool. There are tiki huts and hammocks on the beach.

Front desk was fantastic; all employees we encountered were very friendly and helpful.

There is not daily maid service, which was fine with us. Probably one of the ways Cocoplum keeps it rates reasonable.

And if you bring your own boat, Cocoplum has it's own dock.

I do agree with one of the other reviewers regarding accessibility at Cocoplum, though. You have to go up 17 steps to get to the front door of your villa, and then to get up to the 2nd floor there is a spiral staircase. So this may not be the best option for an elderly or disabled person.

Room Tip: Cocoplum is a nice compact place. Even if you have a villa at the back of the complex, you may stil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

I stayed here in the 1990's and loved it. I revisited with 4 fishing buddies, as the price and location was spot-on. The units are looking a little tired and dated. With a little sprucing, this could be a world -class place. Some detailing of the units such as painting, new carpets, tubs, etc is all it needs. The kitchens looked brand new, and the grounds looked freshly landscaped. (lush and tropical!) The location is perfect...just far away enough from the hustle and bustle of Highway One, yet close enough to all of Marathon's resources. One critique from an architectural standpoint...there is no bathroom down stairs! If you are drinking, the spiral stair case becomes an evil place! Our unit was spacious, and the amenities were just fine. The pool and hot tub were outstanding, and the beach was fine, by Keys standards. I will return again. it is hoped some minor remodeling does occur without sacrificing a great value! a word of caution...if you are handicapped...stay away...stairs, stairs, and more stairs!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, IL
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

We loved Cocoplum. We went there on a family vacation with our adult daughters in March. The villa we stayed in was roomy and had a great view from our screened second floor porch. We spent a lot of hours on the beach and around the hot tub at night which was a gathering spot for people staying in other villas as well. The garden layout was beautiful. We had one problem with a sliding door that was hard to open, but maintenance was out and fixed it as soon as we called. The entire staff was very helpful and friendly.

We've already decided to return for another week for our next family vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for a villa with an ocean view from the screened porch, if possible. They will cost more than th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cocoplum Beach and Tennis Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cocoplum Beach and Tennis Club

Address: 109 Cocoplum Drive, On the Atlantic Ocean, Marathon, FL 33050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Specialty Lodging in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Twenty free standing 2 bedroom 2 bath vacation villas on the ocean. All have full kitchens, W&D & sleep 6. Heated pool on beach. Boat docks available with trailer parking. Also a 4 bedroom 5 bath pool home with 135 ft. Dock. Sleeps 10. Marina Wi-Fi Internet ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cocoplum Beach And Tennis Club Hotel Marathon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cocoplum Beach and Tennis Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.