We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT FOOD!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of King Seafood Market & Restaurant

King Seafood Market & Restaurant
10925 Overseas Highway, Marathon, FL 33050
+1 305-735-4132
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 77 Restaurants in Marathon
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: KING Seafood Retail Market & Restaurant - Open 7 DAYS, 10am-9pm. You can order by the pound or by the menu. Our specialty is Fresh Seafood, from local fisherman. Our commercial boats provide fresh Stone Crab & Lobster (in season), our OPEN Kitchen allows you to see how we prepare your meal when you order.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Ate here in May 2013. The food was GREAT! Never had conch fritters... I have a new love. i also had a cuban sandwich.. very tasty. My husband had the fish tacos and he loved them. I tasted the grilled fish in the tacos and I'll say it was so fresh & moist - cooked perfect. I took an order of the plantains to go & had them later... so yummy. If going or coming from Key West Please do yourself a favor & EAT HERE!!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    50
    14
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

This place was recommended by a local we meet when staying in Marathon. Not a 5 star restaurant but the food was good at resonable price. No table service. You order at the desk and collect when your number is called. We had lobster with yellow rice and a local fish dish that was very good. Parking may be a problem if its busy. Overall a good choice for a tasty lunch

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“THE BEST SEAFOOD RESTAURANT & MARKET.....!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

When we stay in the the Keys we stay in Marathon...Our first stop is always...King Seafood! To keep it simple...EVERYTHING is FRESH....The Restaurant and the open kitchen is SPOTLESS...The Service is OUTRAGEOUS....Hey these are the ingredients for a GREAT PLACE! The owners Judith & Denny along with their sons are there all the time! They truly take pride in their place ! It shines through the excellent service ,freshest seafood and absolutely spotless place! Once again these are the trademarks of a GREAT PLACE! The seafood soup #1..Counch cerviche #1 Blackened Grouper#1...The COUNCH FRITTERS....AWESOME....everything is Awesome...The owners are always there and they take GREAT PRIDE in restaurant....Believe me DO NOT PASS ON THIS GEM....another thing GO WHERE THE LOCALS GO...Tell them Ronnie sent you....ENJOY!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best seafood ,best value in Marathon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Seafood dishes and cuban sandwiches prepared fresh ! Ate here 3 times this week.Judith will make a recommendation if your not sure what you want .Order your food and pick it-up yourself when the cooks call out your ticket number ,self serve drinks and a nice little dining area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Not sure what all the excitement is about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Tried this place based on internet reviews. Walked in on a Saturday night at 7 pm to find it completely empty, which is never a good thing. Resisted the urge to leave and sat down to see what the reviews were all about. Had the whole fried snapper which was okay. There wasn't a lot of meat on the fish and absolutely no seasoning so was fairly bland. The plantains as a side were good though. Also had the grilled mahi sandwich, which had a generous portion of fish that was again completely bland. Added some tartar sauce to give it flavor, but was later stymied by the poor quality bread that collapsed from the weight of the fish. The meal wasn't expensive but it wasn't that good either, so I'm not sure that makes it much of a deal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed King Seafood Market & Restaurant also viewed

 
Marathon, Florida Keys
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to King Seafood Market & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage King Seafood Market & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.