We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rent a private island with 25ft boat Pure Luxury

Marathon
|
Rental Home – 
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
lorinorth
Ellicottville, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
13
people found this review helpful

Unfortunately, our stay was disappointing. We left after one night because there was only a dab of luke-warm water. The owner told us this is just the case due to the solar and wind system. Why promote a large, deep soaking tub if there's only enough warm water to fill it 5"? The house is not luxury, but well worn and well used. Significant storm damage has destroyed parts of the island, leaving washed out drop-offs marked by yellow hazard tape. Our responses from the owner with our dissatisfaction left us unhappy.

4 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 3 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
2 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 3 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
2 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: concept of private island
Liked least: no hot water
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 25, 2013
This person came in for only 2 nights and was expecting something different. The water gets hot, however on that day there was a slight problem which our caretaker came out to the island immediately to take care of. This guest was extremely rude to the care taker. She was expecting a spa and it is a luxury private island. The house is a luxury home. There is only one area about 6 feet long that has yellow caution tape around it because of a storm that has some erosion around the rocks and is there only for safety of the guests. We have just refurnished and painted. This guest was unhappy before she even got to the house. This is the first complaint we have had and it would not of mattered what we did, this guest would have been unhappy. See other reviews and see that this Private Island is a unforgettable vacation. We did everything to try to satisfy this guest. Please feel free to check our web site at: http://www.myluxuryvacation.info/ and you will see current photos of the property. We get repeats every year because it is a great property.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Fort Wayne
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
11
people found this review helpful
3 of 5 stars Value 3 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 3 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 18, 2012
The Island is a spectacular place and actually we do not mind if the boat is used however there is not a radio on board so we suggest that you bring a radio with you and use the boat. The caretaker was probably being cautious. There are plenty of places to get more gas if you were to so desire, of course you are responsible for the boat. We always recommend sandals when walking the island because you never know what you could step on. I hope you will give us another try in the future. Also know the dock is being replaced soon. I hope you enjoyed the fantastic views and all of the luxuries inside the house itself as well as the fantastic diving all around the house.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Rockwood
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2012 for a stay in January 2012
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Atlanta Georgia
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011 for a stay in August 2011
1
person found this review helpful
3 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
A FlipKey verified reviewer
Tucson
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011 for a stay in July 2011
1
person found this review helpful
5 of 5 stars Value 4 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk 5 of 5 stars Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$1,000
/
Night
Week
Month
Additional fees may be applied by owner
Make Inquiry
Owner
Dave M
15612006604
Speaks English
Listed since : Oct 2011
Response Rate: 10 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 24 days ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing