We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family vacation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hammocks at Marathon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Hammocks at Marathon to your Saves list
The Hammocks at Marathon
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1688 Overseas Highway, Marathon, FL 33050   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Marathon
Jasper, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great family vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Our family of four plus two grandparents just spent a week at The Hammocks in Marathon, Florida. It was a great place to stay. The property was very clean and the staff treated us wonderfully. The Tiki Bar had great food and even fixed our freshly caught fish from a deep sea fishing trip. The property has a beautiful view. There isn't any beach front, but there is little of that in Marathon at all. The pool offered plenty of entertainment for our 10 and 6 year olds! The 2 bedroom condo offered plenty of room. Kitchen space was limited but we didn't need much room to cook. There were very nice grills close to the pool for those that want to grill. Overalll, it was a super vacation with wonderful memories made!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    84
    25
    12
    5
See reviews for
51
90
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Spent an awesome week at the hammocks of marathon. The property is really nice and centrally located. Lots of amenities and the staff was very welcoming. When booking make sure to do it early and ask for the water view rooms. Loved it so much we became blue green owners. Can't wait to go back and relax at the tiki bar while enjoying a beautiful Florida Keys sunset.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
salem, or
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

this was a great place to stay. It was clean and comfortable. The staff were always friendly and the concierge gave us lots of useful information. We had a nice view over the pool out to the bay/ocean. The kitchen light went out and the maintenance staff fixed it immediately and were so friendly. It is centrally located so you can get around and see the other keys easily or you can just stay by the pool and relax. There is a great public beach nearby - Sombrero, which has good parking and access. The best place we stayed in Florida, don't hesitate to stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We spent our week in Marathon at The Hammocks. I was concerned after reading the other reviews on Tripadvisor and wasn't looking forward to my time here. I have been pleasantly surprised. We had a 2 bedroom room and couldn't have requested a better view. I was fearful of the "room smell" but we haven't experienced any issues. Granted the hotel is not the Ritz but I have not come across a group of employees that have been more helpful and accommodating that I have met here. We had one item that needed maintenance and they were at our door within 10 minutes fixing the issue. The supervisor came in to apologize for any inconvenience and proceeded to carry our trash out for us without us asking. He seemed genuinely concerned about out inconvenience and really, it wasn't a big deal. We will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a 2 bedroom. They seem to have the better views and a kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

The points belonged to my sister they were a Christmas gift and was not disappointed. My wife and I spent 5 days at the end of April. I could not fine anything wrong with this place. They did not pressure me to become a member.Our unit was a two bedroom unit which we found to be very clean. All the staff was friendly and polite. We had a view of the Gulf, water, and pool.I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

First of all, I did not have the same experience as the negative reviewers. My husband and I booked this reservation about 12 months out for our first anniversary. We only had 7000 points at the time so it obviously has nothing to do with the amount of points a BlueGreen owner has. We were very fortunate to stay in room 209 with a water view, but to be honest we did not spend much time in the room for this to matter. I know that there are some folks who choose to spend their time in their hotel room and not leave the grounds, but we are not those people. We took these six days and enjoyed the surrounding area, the food and activities offered.

The resort staff are very friendly and accommodating. Not sure who the others dealt with and why they would require room service and cleaning daily. We asked for new towels and they were delivered. In fact, the staff called our room numerous times to make sure we received them.

A vacation is what you make of it. This is not one of the better resorts in BlueGreen, but it's still clean and in a great location. It is not high end, but you are in a beautiful area, close to Key West. I do wish there were more beautiful sandy beaches in Marathon since Sombrero Beach was dirty to me. We decided to enjoy the pool instead, go snorkeling on a tour, and head to Key West. I think the location alone makes up for what The Hammocks is lacking in inside appearance, activities, etc.

We will come back to The Hammocks for peace and quiet again in the future. This is the perfect location to take a break from all the hustle and bustle in life.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Beautiful place to stay near Key West FL! Quiet, peaceful view of ocean! Only noise was from our DRUNK neighbors in room next to us, up most of night! Not resorts fault! Would return again! I have stayed at many Bluegreen Resorts and never disappointed with service/friendliness.

Room Tip: Ask for room with odd number (107, 207, 307 ect.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hammocks at Marathon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hammocks at Marathon

Address: 1688 Overseas Highway, Marathon, FL 33050
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Hammocks at Marathon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Choice Hotels, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Hammocks at Marathon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hammocks At Marathon Hotel Marathon
The Hammocks Marathon
The Hammocks Hotel Marathon
Hammocks Marathon Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hammocks at Marathon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.