We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Away” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Cove Motel and Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Cove Motel and Marina to your Saves list
Sea Cove Motel and Marina
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   12685 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 19 Marathon B&B and Inns
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Stay Away”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We were hoping for a fun night on a houseboat. Based on other reviews we were expecting to be "roughing" it a bit, but looked forward to something different. Unfortunately the experience was extremely disappointing. The boat smelled horribly of mold (not old musty boat, but mold). It was clearly a very old houseboat that had very little updates or repairs done to it for the 50 years it had been sitting on the dock. The carpets were worn through and torn, the windows were sealed shut so we couldn't get fresh air, the blinds were broken and hanging by strings. There is no ambience at this place, and the water in this bay is stagnant and dirty. Considering that it was the most expensive hotel we had while in the keys - it was by far a pretty dirty, smelly, decaying, experience. Spend your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    22
    11
    9
    25
See reviews for
19
43
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

My husband and I are staying here for three nights, and this is our first. We are in a floating houseboat docked by the side of a charming wooden boat jetty. Overall a pretty rustic/quaint feel. The houseboat/room is decorated in a vintage fashion, with an antique looking dresser and a retro-looking lamps. The beds seem comfortable and clean. Many cable TV channels; and fast wifi (i don't know why previous reviewers said internet was spotty). There's also a fridge and a microwave. The bathroom is small but adequate - the size you would expect in a boat, and clean. The boathouse is not brand new, but it certainly is decently maintained, and comfortable for the price. We stayed out in the deck this afternoon basking in the sun; and at night we star-gazed on the deck chairs. The man at the office was helpful and friendly. Charming experience overall.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Arrived with the hopes of a special stay. It was high season so $150 a night vs the normal $60ish a night. Booked a double but got two singles because we were the last to arrive due to a late flight.

The setting is lovely and staff also were very nice. Our accommodation wasn't good. Our boat #12 was old and run down. We spent 10 minutes trying to unlock a very loose door handle and once we worked out how to manipulate it, we could get in and out. Signs though of the overall feel of the state of the boats.

There were no cups to drink out of. The towels were plain and old. The neighbors also living on the dock were very friendly but were up early so no chance to sleep in.

Also while I was hesitant to write this in I feel it's good to know. After staying in boat #12 I have bites appearing that are indicative of bed bugs. I will be following up with the hotel and expedia to notify them of this. Unless they renovate boat 12 I would suggest skipping this experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint John, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

this looked lovely when we checked it out, but we were very dissapointed with it. The location is great but the room was awful. Old furniture,dirty mattresses, noisy air con that looked as though the vent was covered in mould.Thank goodness we took our own pillows, as we would never have used the ones that were in the room.When we first arrived the room had an overwhelming smell of men's after shave. We wondered if it was there to cover some other smell. The TV had only one channel and that was fuzzy. We only wanted it to check the weather and couldn't even do that.The receptacle in the toilet did not work for the shaver or hair dryer. Someone had painted over it so maybe that was what was wrong with it. They need to upgrade this place and get a cleaner in to do the rooms. It could be good with some money spent on it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake George
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

not your typical motel room. we were in a small houseboat tied up to the dock . not 5 star, but a houseboat wow! had our own houseboat. they had eight.all were rented plus 10 rooms on land. even had cable tv & wireless on a boat !! rustic but we loved it .spent 3 nights. used as central location while we visited sights in keys. need to go back & spend more time there.

Room Tip: rent the "floating room"
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My boyfriend and I selected Sea Cove Marina for our one-night stay in the Keys based on the fact it was an ACTUAL floating room (aka houseboat). We loved the idea - which is just what we told the manager when he checked us in. Indeed, the houseboat was just as described by many of these reviews - small, cute, and clean albiet outdated decor. Our houseboat was unfortunately musty smelling, which really was only an issue for me because my asthma had been acting up a bit. We did book last minute, though, and got the last room at the place: so there wasn't much we could do! Later that night, we did have an incident with bugs - namely, a GIANT palmetto bug crawling above the bathroom (we didn't know it at the time, but have since found out what it was, and that they're quite common in Florida, even in homes) and two MUCH smaller, similar looking bugs. We killed them all, though, and there were no more after that. It was a little unnerving, but I eventually got over it. This is definitely not the place to stay if you like resorts, pools, and elegant accommodations; but if you're looking for a unique experience (as we were) and don't mind "roughing it", then you'll like this place. We'd stay here again, although we would book a different boat than #15 due to the mustiness.

Room Tip: Boat #15 was a bit musty smelling
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Take boat 13. It has two chairs on deck and when the sunset comes be sure you have something to take pictures with.
Even better is when you bring something to eat and a bottle of wine and then watch the sunset. You are on a converted boat that is now hotel room with everything you need to have it cosy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Cove Motel and Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Cove Motel and Marina

Address: 12685 Overseas Hwy, Marathon, FL 33050
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sea Cove Motel and Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sea Cove Motel and Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Cove Motel And Marina Hotel Marathon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Cove Motel and Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.