We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“little gem of a restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Grille and Raw Bar

Sunset Grille and Raw Bar
7 Knights Key Blvd, Marathon, FL 33050-2002
305-396-7235
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 77 Restaurants in Marathon
Price range: $15 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“little gem of a restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

went there on 4-5-2014 from Miami, wife and I took a leisure drive to have lunch at Keys Fisheries but I had seen this place in the internet so we decided to give it a try, we made the right choice, the ambience and local is far better than Keys Fisheries, the view and food surpasses the "other" place , table service , unlike the "other" place , the menu is more extensive and to top it all the prices are the same. Very good place in the keys for seafood, we will be back with the whole family.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    573
    388
    160
    74
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“lunch at Sunset Grill”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at the Keys early and couldn't check into our rental yet so we came to Sunset Grille for lunch. It was fairly steady with business and just after a big run on 7 Mile Bridge, but all the staff was friendly. We used the beach chairs and pool until we got hungry. You can sit out by the bridge without any service,but also no hassles. Food & drinks can be ordered at the bar. We did sit on the pool deck for a nice lunch. Fried lobster appetizer, salads, fried oyster basket. The seared Ahi tuna sandwich was the highlight. Only suggestion is better bar mixed drinks. The special was a pink Cadillac and it lacked flavor. Our server, Ray, was awesome! Great start of our week at Sunset Grille! A big fist pump to Ray for making the atmosphere fun.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UPSTATE NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Pool at a restaurant! Fun place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

Spotted this place on the way to Key West and after talking with some folks where we were staying we found out the name. The next day, after a morning of kayaking, we went for lunch. We sat inside overlooking the lower patio/deck/bar and pool, since we already had a good dosing of sun kayaking.

I've never seen a restaurant with a pool that wasn't associated with a hotel or some sort of lodging.. very cool. After lunch we went down and hung out by the pool and had more drinks. Had a swim or two and some more drinks. This would be an awesome place to watch the sunset, I'm sure - hence the name. But we weren't there for that. It's located right by the seven mile bridge and has awesome water views. The pool, patio are right by the water and besides the seating around the pool there are chaises on the sand by the poolside bar. While there is a bar and all, there were a lot of families and kids enjoying themselves.

Their is a pier for docking and maybe fishing from the pier - not sure about that - you'd have to check.

all the staff were very friendly and attentive. Service great. The food was good, but I don't think the hogfish was really hogfish, I think they may have subbed another white fish, because it didn't taste like hogfish. We heard that restaurants sometimes do this when they can't get hogfish. A shame. Otherwise dishes were good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Great food, great view, and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We came in on the way back from key west to key largo and stopped to see the sunset.
While they told us it would be 30-40 minutes, it was only a 15 minute wait.

We got a seat downstairs in the pool area where there was a live band and we were next to the waterfront. Ideal for the sunset view. I was sure that we'd have to wait for the food as the place was filled to capacity, but the service was excellent and food came out fast, hot, and was delicious.

We had oysters, and crab au gratin as well as crab mac & cheese.. .all was great. Key lime was good too .. but hey, there's a lot of competition for key lime, so this would not be the place to come for that.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Go for breakfast and get the pancakes.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

I have been twice on this vacation and got the blueberry pancakes and then the chocolate chip. They are huge, buttery, light and wonderful. They were both so good, I couldn't tell you which one was better. My husband got a combo that was more than he could eat. The home style potatoes are wonderful. The amazing thing was breakfast for all was $50 for five of us. Very very reasonable. Family atmosphere. Eat inside or out. Waitresses nice and food comes out quick. Skip the sausage and biscuits. It looked average. My hubby liked it. I didn't care for it. I will go back. Great views and sitting on the water.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunset Grille and Raw Bar also viewed

Marathon, Florida Keys
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Sunset Grille and Raw Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Grille and Raw Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.