We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historically tucked away gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pigeon Key

Pigeon Key
1 Knights Key Boulevard, Marathon, FL 33050
+1 305-743-5999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 15 Attractions in Marathon
Type: Historic Sites, Islands, Aquariums, Outdoors
Activities: Leisure education, Snorkeling
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The island of Pigeon Key was once the home of the workers who built the Overseas Railway. Today it is operated by the Pigeon Key Foundation, a 501(c) not for profit organization, that runs daily historical tours of the island. Visit our website for more information about taking a tour!
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Historically tucked away gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

On our last day vacationing in the Keys we decided to take the tour. You can take the ferry then walk back on the bridge 2 miles. Barbra our tour guide was animated and she made it fun for our kids to learn some history about Henry Flagler and the railroad. The weather was perfect and we were able to slowly walk back and enjoy the calm seas and look for sea life. Very enjoyable and well worth the admission.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    53
    20
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Keys”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

This is a great way to break up the journey to Key West, about half way down the keys, and a wonderful chance to see and learn about the Florida East Coast Railway and Henry Flagler. Eric Johnson does a great job, as do the team at the Pigeon Key Foundation making this piece of history come alive. The surreal colors of the surrounding water, and the super fun boat ride out on the Pigeon Key ferry make this a fun filled time! Be sure to walk up onto the old bridge and gaze out across the sea and down into the shallow waters to see a wide array of sea life

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“History where I didn't expect it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

My husband and I toured on a whim to help fill an open afternoon. I'm SO glad we did! In the heat of the day we appreciated the ferry ride to the island, although if we had gone in the morning I would have loved to walk the 2 miles out. Our guide was knowledgable, friendly, and animated. We left with a much deeper appreciation for the local history and how the keys became a major, accessible destination. Definitely recommend this for those who love history and beautiful views. Don't forget to pack some cold water!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Hidden Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Thanks to Trip Advisor my hubby and I visited Pigeon Key. It is not highly publicized but well worth the trip. The boat trip over was nice. We had calm seas and sunny skies. You might want to call ahead for reservations as we saw many people having to wait for the next boat because the one they wanted to take was full. The cushions on the seats were dry but water ran between the cushions and my behind got wet. The men in charge of the boat trip and the lady in the visitors' center were very nice. The history of the very rich Mr. Flagler, his r.r. and his many other ventures was very interesting. We learned a lot from the video they show you at the beginning of the Pigeon Key tour. You are crowded in a room to watch it but it was extremely informative. To really experience the massiveness and difficulty of the r.r. being built, WALK BACK after your tour. It is only 2 miles. The scenery, the water, the breeze and the calmness can't be matched! This was the truest part of the tour. Thanks to many other reviews for suggesting the boat ride over and walking back.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Interesting Piece of History”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We took the ferry though they warned us it would be rough and probably wet. They were right. The people on one side of the boat got very wet, but at least they warned us. We went anyway and enjoyed the history lesson and tour guide. Really wish she had taken us into one of the buildings for the long talk as it was very windy and a little cool. It was fun to learn about the railroad and the folks that lived here over time. Thought it very cool that school groups can rent the place and have their kids learn about the environment and live on the island. Also families can rent one of the cottages. Am glad we went as it was the only tour that day due to wind conditions. We walked a little bit of the old bride hoping to see turtles but didn't. I think if I had realized that it wasn't 7 miles to walk back, we might have walked back. It's only a couple of miles I think to walk back. It was too windy that day anyway but thought I'd let you know it's not a 7 mile walk.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pigeon Key also viewed

Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Pigeon Key? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pigeon Key, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.