We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to spend the morning” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crane Point Museum & Nature Center

Crane Point Museum & Nature Center
5550 Overseas Highway, Marathon, FL 33050 (Formerly Crane Point Hammock)
305-743-9100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 38 things to do in Marathon
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This nature reserve contains evidence of pre-Columbian civilization and was once the site of an Indian village.
Robbinsville, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great way to spend the morning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Leaving my family behind for a few hours, I took a trip to the conservatory for some solitude. Their easily traveled trails were a nice kick start to the day. The friendly staff and volunteers are very informative and clearly proud of the grounds. Lizards are abundant, wild birds a bit allusive, spiders...creepy, sea life gorgeous and butterflies a plenty. There is something for every nature lover here. The bird hospital is really nice and the staff member that I spoke with truly has a relationship with the animals.

I recommend this place to anyone that wants to spend a few quiet hours.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    91
    34
    9
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eau Gallie, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Enjoyed the visit to Crane Point Museum & Nature Center. I would encourage anyone with a couple of free hours to visit it.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice conservation site”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This site is part of The Great Florida Birding and Wildlife Trail, and has some interesting history to tell. The original shack of Mr. Adderly's family still stands, as does the home of the Cranes, who purchased the land from him. There is bug protection available before you start the hike - it is advisable to use it.
It's an easy walk and very scenic - stop at the bird hospital and the Point for pictures. Comfortable shoes are recommended, but I did the walk in flip-flops with little issue.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Gables, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“wanthed to check this place out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

If youre a nature lover be it wildlife or botany you may enjoy this place ...the wildlife i saw were alot of butterflies, iguanas and cats plus rish at the end and they have a wild bird hspitsal where u can view the guys recovering. It was interesting to see the Adderly house as well and the one thing that stuck out. They had Mosquito repellent sitting on a table free for people to use ... i know of other state parks that have sold bigspray for nearly double the avg cost so it was nice this place kept it out for people to use. very welcoming place i enjoyed the visit:)

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Nice Stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Crane Point a good place for history buffs, and a decent place to walk. When we were there, they were in the process of some updating and restoration, particularly to one of the homes on the property. It's kind of a quiet place.

Crane Point has several nature trails and destinations highlighting different Keys habitats, as well as providing information about the lives of early residents. They helpfully supply bug spray, which is a must. Bring water as well. The trails are not very long, but if it's hot they can feel like it! The Marathon Wild Bird Center, which rehabilitates hundreds of birds per year, is located on the premises. In fact, while we were paying our admission someone came in with an injured bird looking for assistance. Also on the property are a butterfly meadow, gift shop, two houses which belonged to the previous landowners and which are in the process of being restored, and the remains of an early settlement of Bahamian immigrants. There is also a small, air-conditioned museum which is an ideal place to recover after walking the trails. The staff was quite friendly, told us a lot about Crane Point and also suggested a good place for lunch. They have programs for small children but you may need to sign up in advance.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crane Point Museum & Nature Center also viewed

 
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Crane Point Museum & Nature Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crane Point Museum & Nature Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.