We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place to see it all!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crane Point Museum & Nature Center

Crane Point Museum & Nature Center
5550 Overseas Highway, Marathon, FL 33050 (Formerly Crane Point Hammock)
305-743-9100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 38 things to do in Marathon
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This nature reserve contains evidence of pre-Columbian civilization and was once the site of an Indian village.
Yellowhead County, Alberta
2 reviews
“Place to see it all!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Enjoyed the walk and the exhibits. Well put together with much information about earlier times. Could view plant life, wildlife, historical home, etc. Very informative, the personel were super friendly.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    90
    34
    9
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Camden
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Truly A Must for Eco Tourists”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We were told of this nature reserve by tourists we met at Bahia Honda State Park. We visited a coupe days later and were not disappointed. It is wonderful to have a look at what the Keys looked like before developement.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Coast, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“price was very high for what you got. we paid $10 each with discount coupons. All we did was walked down a dirt path.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Ads build thid place up to be a very serene walk with Mother Nature. All we did was walk down a path (dirt) for about 1 mile or so. We expected to see much of Mother nature and her charm. We did see a few birds that were rescued. But it was poorly kept. Saw the crane home. Which was boarded up and l ooked as if it really needed maintenance on it. THE ONLY time was enjoyable was the wooden path we strolled down. Brochure makes you think you are walking around a waterway with bridge style wooden path. It is nice....until you get to the end. THEN YOU HAVE TO TURN AROUND AND RETREAT THE SAME WAY. Also was told we would see the butterfly santuary....We saw 2 zebra butterlies flying on the path....SAVE YOUR MONEY.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Colony Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful Nature Trails out to Gulf Side Point”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

In the middle of Marathon....great nature trails through the mangroves and jungles out of a beautiful point in the gulf. We love to take our dog Darby there for long walks out to the point. This is a terrific place to view the way the keys must have been 500 years ago! Small indian village on trail....

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great trails”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

The Crane Point Museum was great if you are more of a nature person. There are many trails to walk and it is full of information about the Keys and Marathon Florida. The Nature Center was not open when we were there. I would be careful when walking down the unbeaten paths/trails since you might find spiders. They are big and scary looking but they will not actually bother you. I almost walked right into one so I figured I could warn anyone else who might want to walk down the same trails. The trails were beautiful though since you can see the coral grow right out of the ground.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crane Point Museum & Nature Center also viewed

 
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Crane Point Museum & Nature Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crane Point Museum & Nature Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.