We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected more...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Hook's Marina & Dive Center

Captain Hook's Marina & Dive Center
11833 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 53, Marathon, FL 33050
(305) 743-2444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 72 Activities in Marathon
Type: Water sports, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Captain Hook’s Marina and Dive Center has been the place to get everything you need for a day on the water. Charters for fishing, diving, snorkeling, dive instruction and certification; bait and tackle; scuba equipment and air tanks; boat rentals; snacks and beverages—we have all the supplies you’ll need to enjoy an area celebrated for world-class fishing, diving and all water sports. We now offer paddleboard and kayak rentals and tours, and kiteboarding too! Check with our staff to see when the next sunset cruise will be departing...they are great fun.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Indianapolis, IN
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Expected more...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012 via mobile

We chose to go diving with captain hooks based off the good reviews, so we booked the AM two dive trip for October 31. When we booked we were told there would be some divers that would be spear fishing, but they would have their own guide and not be near us. Not the case. They fished off the back of the boat and we ran into them frequently. On the second spot they cut up a baracuda they had caught at the first location, and threw it into the water to attract more fish, even though there were already plenty around, it was a waste of a fish. Then their catches were brought on board and laid at our feet. We couldn't change seats since the small boat was full of us and some snorklers. We were also disappointed with the service provided on board. Maybe we have just always been spoiled by other dive shops, but the deal has always been you set up your equipment, and they switch tanks for you for the second dive, and then break your equipment down at the end; not the case here. We did it all. There was nothing special about this dive shop. They did the bare minimum. Only positive was the dive guide, who was at least pleasant. Overall a disappointing first dive experience in marathon, next time I will try one of the other shops.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptHookOwner, Owner at Captain Hook's Marina & Dive Center, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to let us know how we did and your review has helped us concentrate on a couple things that were mentioned to try to make sure that doesn't happen again. We pride ourselves on the attention we give our customers, our helpfulness and responsibility to make sure the customer is well taken care of. We are sorry we did not live up to that standard for you and for ourselves. We ask that you give us another opportunity if you come back to the area. Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    54
    17
    10
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great Snorkeling in Marathon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We were in Marathon Key at the end of Sept. which is the slow season and tends to be harder to book a snorkeling trip. Finally were able to get on one with 2 divers and my husband and me. We went out on the Reef Hopper to 2 different spots, the first was the Doughnut which was loaded with jelly fish. We were a little concerned, although the captain assured us they wouldn't sting and if they did it just felt like a mosquito bite. We cautiously snorkeled around them and didn't end up being stung at all. The second place we went to was Coffins Patch. We enjoyed that much more as there were no jelly fish and many more fish to see. We even observed a sea turtle. The crew were all very helpful and friendly during the 3 hour trip. I look forward to another visit to the Keys and snorkeling with Captain Hook's.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptHookOwner, Owner at Captain Hook's Marina & Dive Center, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Jelly fish can be pesky things sometimes but they don't often disrupt a dive or snorkeling trip. Some can be worse than others and our crew knows which ones to look out for. It is also very infrequent that they are in the areas in which we are diving and snorkeling. It sounds like you had a good time. Our snorkeling trips are a good deal and a great introduction to the waters surrounding the Marathon area. Coffins Patch is a sweet location especially for snorkelers because the depths by the stake get pretty shallow and easy to dive down to the coral. We are looking forward to you coming back and thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Charlotte, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great scuba dive center, very nice, friendly, and helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Went on a two tank dive in the morning, was only three divers and one snorkeler. Very nice, knowledgeable, and friendly staff, helped you all the way thru your dive and did not have to pay for a "dive guide" like others do. Went on two shallower dives about 30 feet as one of our fellow divers were looking for lobsters. Boat was small and fast to get you in and out quickly. This was the first time I ever dived in Marathon. Overall I would give the reef a B as I have seen better reefs but this was a great outfit and think if we haven't went looking for lobsters, we might have gotten to see a better reef in a protected area. They had a special going on for $99 which included tanks, weights, reg, and BCD which was an excellent value also, but probably the special is for off season only!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptHookOwner, Owner at Captain Hook's Marina & Dive Center, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate it, especially when we get compliments on our crew... we like that. They are a hard working fun staff and they know they can make a difference in your dive even if the conditions are not perfect. You must have been on the Reef Hopper our 31 foot Island Hopper specially designed for diving. It makes for a great dive boat. The sanctuary sites are special and we do dive them often but you are right, you can't take lobsters off of those sites. Most of the sites in Marathon are on the shallower side but there are deep sites and the T-Bolt a great wreck. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you back at Captain Hook's real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Happy, engaging crew n our trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I chose this operator because of it's good 'reviews and the fact they make two stops. In case one is bad, you have a chance the second will be better. The weather and water temperature has a lot to do with which you see, so you never know, but on our fist stop we saw quite a lot. They brought along a few scuba divers, including too young boys getting certified. We enjoyed watching them below us. A couple of the adult scuba divers brought us several lobster. The equipment and boat were in very good shape. The boat was a large pontoon boat, it had a head, and they provided ice water on the trip. They recommend you bring snacks. The trip is advertised as two and a half hours, but we were out over three. Great time overall.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptHookOwner, Owner at Captain Hook's Marina & Dive Center, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
It sounds like you had a good time and some good eats as well. As mentioned early, the power catamaran platform of the Jolly Roger makes it a great boat to dive and snorkel from. It is one of our babies and it has added a new dimension to Captain Hook's with enough size to offer sunset and specialty cruises and large on-the-water party events as well. Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we hope you come back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
1 review
“Very Customer Oriented!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

I went out on the "Reef Hopper" out of Captain Hook's Marina and Dive Center this past Friday and Saturday afternoon. We went out about 3.5 miles (nice boat) each day, dove 2 sites each afternoon, dove at "The Doughnut" and "Coffins Patch" on Friday and "The Elbow" and "The Wrist" on Saturday. Depth was about 20-25 feet with good visibility. Dive Master's, Eric and Bonnie, were both excellent guides, making sure to point out anything that I was looking for. I wouldn't hesitate to go back to Captain Hook's.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptHookOwner, Owner at Captain Hook's Marina & Dive Center, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
We appreciate your business and the nice review. Having a dive instructors like Eric and Bonnie showing you the reef has some advantages. They know the reef very well and see some of the friendly inhabitants often. Some are territorial so they know they will be there when we dive the area again. There are usually some surprises like sea turtles, eels, mantas, or large pelagic fish that come in over the reef while we are diving. There have been many times that dolphin, the mammals, have come in and joined our dive parties. It is still rare but it does happen. A few years back, we had a whale shark that was hanging around Captain Hook's in the cut and out front. That was exciting. Don't stay away too long and thank you for the nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Hook's Marina & Dive Center also viewed

Marathon, Florida Keys
 
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Captain Hook's Marina & Dive Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Hook's Marina & Dive Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.