We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sailing in the Keys

Sailing in the Keys
Turn onto 35th St., 3502 Gulfview Ave, MM49, Marathon, FL 33050
305-407-3654
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 15 Attractions in Marathon
Type: Beaches, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tartan 34C, ready to sail in the keys.
Delray Beach, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great family vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Took a week long sail and learn for the bareboat and coastal cruising certifications with my family. Bruce could not have been more instructive and attentive. I have two boys, 10 and 14, and he was very good with keeping them both learning and entertained with great stories on the trip. Sailing on your own is easiest when you have a little help. Although the class was for me, he taught the boys enough to help out where needed. Looking forward to lots of fun sailing adventures in the future.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    2
    1
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best vacation experience ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

We just finished a 3 day sailing course with Edgar. Bruce and his instructors and boats are awesome! They are very thorough, and we had more hands on experience than I ever imagined. We stayed on the boat and enjoyed great food nearby. If you are looking for a first class operation for learning to sail, you need to go here. I cannot think of how it could have been any better. It was well worth the cost and we are looking foward to returning for the next classes. Laurie and Rich

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nettleton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful & Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

We sailed a 2 hour cruise on the catamaran, "Sirius". It was a
relaxing and fun time. The sunset was beautiful. We would definately do it again.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
flint michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“sailing here is great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

loved the reefs and the beautiful waters,,did not like how the boaters were treated or over charged for dingy dock or a compleet lack of public free spots in the harbor of marathon in boot key....

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Most Awesome Sailing School and Captain”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Don't bother looking any further, Florida Keys Sailing School, is the answer regardless what you are looking for. Captain Bruce offers education whatever your skill level, entertainment tailored to your preferences, local advise and tons of fun!!! We were looking for structure because we wanted to learn everything we possibly could in 7 days, but this was also our vacation and we wanted to enjoy the time as well. Bruce made sure it was the perfect balance of both. We both wanted 101,103 and 104 certifications and that's what we got and so much more. Bruce shared many tips and suggestions from his own personal experience that just expanded our knowledge beyond the course material. Living aboard was an added bonus. He offers wonderful boats for experiencing the lifestyle and I highly recommend it for anyone considering a future aboard. His location is fantastic as well. Keys Fisheries has amazing food if you want to eat there all week, but there are so many great restaurants all up and down Hwy 1 that you could enjoy a different place every night. Don't skip the sail to Island Tiki Bar, the grouper there is unbelievable.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sailing in the Keys also viewed

 
Marathon, Florida Keys
 

Been to Sailing in the Keys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sailing in the Keys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.