We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our little Motel in the Keys” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bonefish Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Bonefish Resort to your Saves list
Bonefish Resort
1.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   58070 Overseas Hwy, M.M. 58 Oceanside, Marathon, FL 33050   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 19 Marathon B&B and Inns
kingston new york
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our little Motel in the Keys”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2009

We stayed at the Bonefish and liked it very much. I had been in touch with Mike via telephone calls before we got there, asking questions too the negative reviews I had read. He told me "it was not fancy but clean." When we arrived and checked out the room, we got what we paid for. We had 2 queen beds, a kitchen and a bathroom with full size tub/shower, and tile floor which we thought was a great idea! Everything was CLEAN and orderly. Outside we had a charcole grill and table with umbrella. We were right next to the road. The first night it was a bit of getting used too, for my husband but I had no problem. After that; it was great for both of us. It was not fancy but we were not looking to pay for a fancy place. We wanted to stay on a budget and "that we did. " With having the grill outside and the kitchen inside, we were able to Shop and make breakfast and dinner with no problem. Steaks, hamburger, and fresh cracked stone crab, were some of the meals. Oh, I can't forget the Key Lime pie! For lunch we packed sandwiches, chip and candy and soda in a sm cooler. Just perfect for our daily outings to the beach and the Key Deer reserve. Our healthy eating plan could wait until we got back to New York. (smile here) The first morning we headed to the back of the motel and watched the sunrise over the ocean. Just beautiful. It was so peaceful and we didn't have to dress in anything but casual the whole time we were there. We used their washer and dryer once, which is located just down the road at their Yellowtail resort. We sat on the beach while our cloths were washing and drying. We didn't use the pool but it would have been perfect in the summertime to take a dip and cool off. We were very close to two wonderful beaches just a few miles down the road. Sombrero beach, in the heart of Marathon and Bahia Honda just a few miles more down the road from there. Their, we spent 4 1/2 days of our 7. We went to Key West twice, once to drive through it and the second time to walk around and enjoy the fun atmosphere for most of the day. We didn't head north of Marathon that whole week; as we had more than enough to do for the week. We will defiantly stay at Bonefish the next time we go to the Keys. It is in a perfect spot for exploring the keys and the Beaches are some of the best in that area. We loved our house keeper and the staff at the front desk. They were ready and able to help us out "as best as they could." They even have books and movies to borrow. Our only complaint is that we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    26
    15
    20
    90
See reviews for
32
84
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
milton keynes
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2009

We cancelled at the last minute after reading recent reviews and booked alternative accommodation(and how glad we were). Whilst in the Keys we decided to visit the resort and found that yes it is small and quaint, so much so that the rooms are what we call "high density" in that there appeared to be a 15' walkway between the two rows of buildings. This was where the BBQ's and tables for each room were located, giving no privacy whatsoever and appeared very cramped. As for the pool, it can only be described at best as a splash pool and would be full if more than two people used it at the same time. There is parking available (adjacent to the highway) but was insufficient for the number of rooms at the resort. The whole resort is as close as you can get to the oseas highway, hence previous reviews re the traffic noise. The whole place looked very tired to say the least, we came away feeling on the one hand depressed and on the other happy that we had booked an alternative resort. Overall you expect to get what you paid for, for this resort I would say it is overpriced by 50%. Other accomodation of a higher standard is available at less money.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikejwells, Operations Manager at Bonefish Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2009
Hello to all who are inquiring. I checked our data base in reference to the above negative feedback and I found no record of this guest having had booked with us. This person was at the wrong intended destination.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham, nc
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2008

My husband and I settled on the Bonefish Resort after an extensive online search. We decided against staying at our favorite Keys motel (the Sea Dell) because we were looking for something with a kitchenette and beach access. The Bonefish Resort looked great in the photos they had posted to their website; in fact, they describe themselves as "a slice of heaven in paradise". We reserved several months in advance and plunked down a deposit on our room. When we arrived at the Bonefish, we discovered that the "slice of heaven" is located right on the Overseas Highway - the setback on our room was probably 70 feet. We spent a sleepless night listening to trucks rumble by and finally gave up on sleeping and got out of bed around 6am. We called the office to discuss the matter with them and they were closed ...it was very early. We decided to check out and find more peaceful accommodation elsewhere (it was the slow season so there were plenty of rooms available in the area). We called the office two more times that morning and informed them of our plans and were told the manager would call us back. The manager never returned our calls. The $370 deposit we put down on our room was never refunded. We paid $370 to spend a sleepless night on the Overseas Highway and have never heard from the manager. We never expected to get a night for free, but being charged this amount of money is gouging! The normal nightly rate for the room we reserved was $189 and that is what we expected to pay. We waited until now to post this review because we wanted to give the Bonefish Resort a chance to make this right. Clearly, it isn't going to happen. Only stay at the Bonefish Resort if you have money to burn and a significant hearing problem.

Stayed November 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikejwells, Operations Manager at Bonefish Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2009
Hello to all. The next time you are looking to arrange for a vacation, think about how fortunate you are to be able to do such a thing. After all, we are living in a world where children still die because they don't have the things they need to live, let alone the things they might want. So if a moquito bites you and causes a little bump for less than an hour, just think about those kids and how blessed you are to be able to look for a vacation destination. Thank you.

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton Manors
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2008

I will echo the negative reviews - everything that has been said is true. The photos online are misleading. We stayed in #314 "the deluxe oceanfront" and let me just say that if you are accustomed to little roaches, ants, old looking (brownish) mattresses, light bulbs out, 6 foot low ceilings, trailer like rooms, broken/loose outdoor decking, accomodations that keep you up all night because you are concerned that you might catch some type of "lice" , a place that makes you feel "itchy" the moment you step foot inside---well than this is the place for you! As for us (5'2 and 5'3" short people who felt like we were being punished inside a matchbox) we left not even 24 hours later and were told we would not get the 2 remaining nights that we forfeited refunded. So my bad for not reading the reviews before we booked and so BE FOREWARNED!. If you're like me and have high standards - book at another place (I wouldn't even stay at their other tow places "the yellow tail and casa del sol (more expensive - just at 2 star).

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikejwells, Operations Manager at Bonefish Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2009
Hello to all guests and future guests. This person was assuming that we were the Ritz Carlton. That is not the case. Our prices are modest, as well as our rooms. A lot of people really love our Bonefish Resort property. If you are looking for a quaint resort destination in the Florida Keys, for a LOW Price, then please give us a call at 1-800-605-7475. Thank you for reading.

Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fishers,in
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2008

Well, I am trying to be as objective as possible. I read the reviews on this site PRIOR to going to the BONEFISH RESORT. There were some pretty terrifying reports. Let's put it this way, I'm no camper, and bugs I do not do. This hotel was very passable for me and it was quaint and clean. Was it old and could there be some fresh paint here and there? Yes, but from what I understand, this place is very typical of the keys. I found it very charming. We stayed in room 308. There was A/C and yes it was a window unit. I guess, having grown up in the 70's where this was pretty common, it did not bother me (how horrifying a window unit!). The room also had a microwave and a small refrigerator. It had all the necessary amenities and was clean. Road noise? maybe a little since it's near the highway, but pretend it's the ocean waves... or else spend $200 a night more to stay in a high-rise.

There was a nice little restaurant next door. The only surprising thing was that when we got there to check-in, we didn't realize we had to walk next door to the YellowTail resort (sister hotel) to check in... but after that, it was fine. We are going back this coming January 2009 and I totally plan to stay there again. Might try the YellowTail this time as some of their rooms looked cute. The YellowTail had a nicer beach than the BoneFish... where you could get in the water... but the Bonefish had a (very) small pool and a hammock. (no water entry though it was right on the water... just a little mucky looking ... guess if you aren't picky... but no beach really. but you can always walk about 50 feet next door!)

  • Liked — charming
  • Disliked — older
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2008

my husband and i love to get away every now and then and we really enjoy the quaint little hideaways. the bonefish resort provided exactly what we needed! the guest and the staff were very friendly! the room was nice and served it's purpose. everything was just so perfect for us. we look forward to our next stay at the bonefish resort! thank you for a great vacation spot! i would recommend this place for anyone looking for a reasonable rate with a great atmosphere.

  • Liked — the kitchen area in each room
  • Disliked — not much room to put your clothes away ( but i pack a lot)
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manistee, Michigan
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2008

We had a wonderful, cute and cozy, cabin. It was great. The kitchen was large with lots of space. We had our own deck. Lots of room. There are two resident cats. It is fairly close to everything.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bonefish Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonefish Resort

Address: 58070 Overseas Hwy, M.M. 58 Oceanside, Marathon, FL 33050
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Bonefish Resort 1.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bonefish resort is a quaint oceanfront motel nestled in a tropical setting, located on the island of Marathon, Florida, in the middle of Florida Keys. Rooms are decorated with an old Florida Keys charm. A sandy oceanfront picnic area, with heated swimming pool and sun bathing area are enjoyed by our guests. If you are yearning for a memorable vacation experience then make us your favorite secret in the sun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Bonefish Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonefish Hotel Marathon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bonefish Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.