We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mis-Representation” 1 of 5 stars
Review of White Sands Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added White Sands Inn to your Saves list
White Sands Inn
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   57622 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 57.5 Oceanside, Marathon, FL 33050   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 19 Marathon B&B and Inns
Grand Island, Nebraska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Mis-Representation”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Rooms are not what they seem in the photo's. Showers overflowed into the bathrooms, bugs in the room and a very musty smell in the rooms. Beds are hard and the administration is horrendous and not professional at all. When we called about the problems all we got was screamed at, they told us that Orkin is there every month, that right there should tell you there is a problem.. We felt taken advantage of at this establishment and would not recommend these rooms to anyone. They are a huge misrepresentation! There are much cheaper places in the Keys at a much better price. Please do yourself a favor and look further.

Room Tip: Look anywhere but the White Sands Inn, much cheaper rooms in the Keys and much better quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    52
    24
    11
    14
See reviews for
41
88
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Petersburg, West Virginia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Spotty or no wife. Poor maid service, Mattress was lumpy & hard. Nobody in office most of the time. If you wanted to talk to owner, you usually had to call her. Shower only, no tub. They shuffle you from room to room to accommodate new customers. Snowy old TV. Need I say more.

Room Tip: Be firm on the kind of room you want. Don't let them shuffle you around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

This is a spectacular place to stay in the Keys. The location is perfect, close to Bahia Honda, Hideaway Cafe, and right on the ocean. It is a place with good vibes, the owners are very friendly and accommodating, and the other people there were fun. Sunrise was breathtaking. Pool was great. The rooms were super clean and our bathroom was great. We stayed in the Pink Flamingo room and it was well worth the cost. We will be returning, I have no doubt!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed there 2 nights.
The hotel is not in Marathon but a few miles from everything. The hotel needs a lot of repairs and maintenance. We could not get any Wifi in our room which was too far from the office.
The fan was not working; the second day the room was not made up ; new towels were left on the bed.
The room howewer was clean.
The day we left there was nobody in the office to leave the key or get a statement.
Overall the experience was so...so.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We had a large two bedroom apartment on the second floor which was spacious enough for two couples. A huge deck off the living area but unfortunately the weather was too cool to sit outside.
The location is great...steps from the ocean with loungers and a double hammock. Also a small heated pool. Painted bright colours gave the small resort a Caribbean feel. Several good restaurants nearby. We recommend Frank's Grill, an Italian restaurant.

The only negative here was the shower. There were a few tiles missing on the floor of the shower and poor water pressure. Great place for a one night stay.

Staff extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Family driven B&B, close to the sea, but with the US 1 nearby. Nice service and pool, but beach wasn´t great - too muddy. Wi-fi and servieminded "crew". Close to the Dolphin Reaserach Center and Sombrero beach.

Room Tip: Make sure to have a room not facing the US 1 - too noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We stayed at White Sands for ten days in November. It was a very relaxing stay. We wanted something other that typical resorts and this was just the place for us. We had a bedroom, well stocked kitchen and balcony. Since we prefer to look at water rather than being in/on water it was perfect for us. We stayed in room 7 and had a large balcony that overlook the Atlantic. My only disappointment was the lack of beaches so we could take long walks. Most of the Keys are like that, limited beaches.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor (#7) with a large balcony overlooking the ocean. Worth every penny to u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Sands Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Sands Inn

Address: 57622 Overseas Highway, Mile Marker 57.5 Oceanside, Marathon, FL 33050
Location: United States > Florida > Florida Keys > Marathon
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Marathon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — White Sands Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your White Sands Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Sands Hotel Marathon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Sands Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.